Qualifying for the World Cup

Adidas soccer balls.

Lennart Preiss / Getty Images for adidas

The road to the most popular sporting event on the planet is a long one. The World Cup is not just a 32-team soccer extravaganza (48 teams starting in 2026), which takes place over the course of roughly four weeks every four years. It is the end product of nearly two years’ worth of qualifying tournaments, preliminary matches, and eliminations.

How Teams Qualify for the World Cup

The process is divided by FIFA’s six confederations — Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Central America and the Caribbean, Oceania, and South America — with each region having its own system to select which nations will represent it at the World Cup.


The African zone uses two rounds to whittle the number of teams qualifying for the third round to 20 where they take part in a final qualifying round featuring five groups of four teams. Each group winner advances to the World Cup to give Africa a total of five representatives

Asia (AFC)

Two qualifying rounds are used to reduce the field to 12. Two groups of six are then formed, with teams playing each other home and away. The two group winners and the two runners-up qualify automatically for the World Cup.

The third-placed teams from each group square off in a home-and-away series with the winner advancing to the playoff with the winner of the Oceania zone.

Europe (UEFA)

The European zone alone includes 52 teams competing for 13 slots in the finals. It is also separated into two rounds. The first consists of seven round-robin, home-and-away groups of six teams as well as two round-robin, home-and-away group of five teams. Each of the nine group winners qualifies automatically for the World Cup. The best eight runners-up, as determined by points totals, advance to the second round.

In round two, the eight teams are paired into four home-and-away series decided by aggregate goals, with the winners advancing to the tournament.

North, Central America and Caribbean (CONCACAF)

This is by far the most complicated region with four rounds of qualifying to whittle down 35 teams to three or four slots. With several sets of small group stages and home-and-away knockout matches, it heavily favors the region’s powerhouses like the United States and Mexico.

Qualifying culminates with a single six-team, home-and-away group from which the top three teams go to the World Cup. The fourth-placed team can still qualify, but it faces a home-and-away tie with the fifth-placed side from the South American region.


The Oceania region uses the tournament at the South Pacific Games to determine which countries will compete for its single slot in the World Cup. The top three finishers at the South Pacific Games, along with one pre-seeded side, form a four-team group in the second stage of qualifying.

The winner of that group will earn a two-game playoff against the fifth finisher in the Asian Zone for a place in the World Cup.

South America (CONMEBOL)

The South American contingent at the World Cup is determined by a single 10-team league, in which each side plays everyone else twice. The top four qualify automatically and the fifth-placed nation faces a playoff against the fourth finisher from the North, Central America, and Caribbean Zone.