2015 World Championship Qualification Standards

Usain Bolt is among the 2013 World Championship winners who earned automatic berths in the 2015 Championships in Beijing. Ian Walton/Getty Images

Unlike previous years, competitors have only one qualifying standard to shoot for to earn their spots in the 2015 World Championships, scheduled to begin in Beijing, China on Aug. 22. There is no “B” standard in 2015, but there are a variety of alternate qualifying methods.

All 2013 World champions, 2014 Diamond League champions and winners of the 2014 Hammer Throw Challenge receive wild card entries to compete in the 2015 World Championships, with the caveat that each country is only permitted one wild card entry to a single event.

Other athletes who are automatically qualified for the Championships – but who are not guaranteed a spot, pending the decisions of their countries – include winners of 2014 or 2015 Area Championships, except for relays and the marathon; the top 15 finishers in the 2015 World Cross Country Championships, who are automatically qualified for the men’s and women’s 10,000 meters; the top 10 finishers in each IAAF Gold Label Marathon held from Jan. 1, 2014 to August 10, 2015; the top three finishers in the 2014 World Race Walking Challenges, who are qualified for the men’s and women’s 20-km race walk; the top three finishers in the 2014 World Race Cup, who are eligible for the men’s 50-km race walk; and the top three finishers in the 2014 men’s and women’s Combined Events Challenge, who are qualified for the decathlon and heptathlon, respectively.

In the relay events, the top eight finishers at the 2014 IAAF World Relays are automatically qualified for their respective 4 x 100 or 4 x 400 events. Eight more teams will be added to each race, based on the world rankings on August 10, 2015.

Athletes in the 10,000 meters, marathon, race walks, relays and combined events who don’t earn wild cards or automatic qualification must meet or exceed the World Championship qualification standard for their event between Jan. 1, 2014 and August 10, 2015. The qualification period for all other athletes runs from Oct. 1, 2014 to August 10, 2015. Performances must be achieved in events organized or authorized by the IAAF, and run according to IAAF rules. Indoor times are eligible for qualification.

2015 World Championship Standards:

100 meters: men 10.16; women 11.33
200 meters: men 20.50; women 23.20
400 meters: men 45.50 women 52.00
800 meters: men 1:46.00; women 2:01.00 (or
1500 meters: men 3:36.20 (or 3:53.30 in the mile); women 4:06.50 (or 4:25.20 in the mile)
5000 meters: men 13:23.00; women 15:20.00
10,000 meters: 27:45.00; women 32:00.00
Marathon: men 2:18:00; women 2:44:00
Steeplechase: men 8:28.00; women 9:44.00
110/100-meter hurdles: men 13.47; women 13.00
400-meter hurdles: men 49.50; women 56.20
High jump: men 2.28 meters (7 feet, 6¾ inches); women 1.94/6-4¾
Pole vault: men 5.65/18-8½; women 4.50/15-1
Long jump: men 8.10/27-¾; women 6.70/22-1¾
Triple jump: men 16.90/56-5; women 14.20/47-3
Shot put: men 20.45/67-7; women 17.75/60-0
Discus throw: men 65.00/216-6; women 61.00/203-5
Hammer throw: men 76.00/259-2; women 70.00/236-2
Javelin throw: men 82.00/273-11; women 61.00/203-5
Decathlon/Heptathlon: men 8075; women 6075
20-kilometer race walk: men 1:25:00; women 1:36:00
50-kilometer race walk: men 4:06:00

See the IAAF website for complete details on 2015 World Championship qualification.