Jeep Model Codes by Year

Do You Know a Jeep JK from a YJ?

Jeep Wrangler Dragon Edition 2014
El Jeep Wrangler Dragon Edition estará disponible con un precio base de $36,095.


As one of the most popular vehicles ever manufactured, the Jeep has been produced in so many styles over the years that even enthusiasts can get confused when it comes to the model codes. For instance, what's a JK and how does it differ from a YJ? And it's not just the iconic Jeep Wrangler that has a code—every Jeep ever made has one, so buyers know exactly what make and model they are looking at.

CJ Models

CJ-2A: Made from 1945 to 1949, this was the first civilian Jeep that Willys made, which was known as the "universal Jeep."

CJ-3A: An upgrade to the CJ-2A, the CJ-3A was made from 1949 to 1953. It had a one-piece windshield and was based on the first post-war military Jeep, known as the M38.

CJ-3B: Produced from 1953 to 1968, this was known as the "high-hood Jeep."

CJ-5: This Jeep featured a rounded hood to accommodate the Willys Hurricane engine and was made from 1955 to 1983.

CJ-5A: Made from 1964 to 1967, this Jeep featured a Tuxedo Park option package that included a Dauntless V6 engine and bucket seats.

CJ-6: Made from 1955 to 1975, this was a CJ-5 with a longer wheelbase.

CJ-6A "Tuxedo Park": This is the rarest CJ made, as only 459 vehicles were manufactured over four years, from 1964 to 1967.

CJ-7: This was the first model that wasn't referred to as a "universal Jeep," and it was made between 1976 and 1986.

CJ-8 "Scrambler": Basically a bigger CJ, it was produced from 1981 to 1985.

CJ-10: Made from 1981 to 1985, this Jeep was a pickup truck with a CJ body.

C10: These vehicles include the Jeepster Commandos made from 1966 to 1971, which came in both convertible and pickup varieties.

C104: This Commando was made between 1972 and 1973, and it had an AMC engine. 

CJ-10A: Based on the CJ-10, this vehicle was designed as a tug to move aircraft around the flight line. It was in production from 1984 to 1986.

DJ Models

DJ-3A: This was the first dispatcher Jeep. Made from 1955 to 1964, it is basically a version of the CJ-3A with two-wheel drive.

DJ-5: Known as the "Dispatcher 100," this Jeep was produced from 1965 to 1967 and was a CJ-5 with two-wheel drive.

DJ-5A: This had a hardtop body and steering on the right hand side of the vehicle. It was produced from 1968 to 1970.

DJ-5B: A Jeep produced from 1970 to 1972 that had a 232 in³ AMC six-cylinder engine.

DJ-5C: This Jeep was made from 1973 to 1974 and was similar to the DJ-5B.

DJ-5D: Similar to the DJ-5B, this Jeep was made from 1975 to 1976.

DJ-5E: Made in 1976, the "Electruck" was an electric version of the Dispatcher that included a battery.

DJ-5F: This Jeep, made from 1977 to 1978, was available with an AMC 258 engine.

DJ-5G: Similar to the DJ-5B, it had a 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine made in 1979 by Volkswagen/Audi.

DJ-5L: Made in 1982, this Jeep had a Pontiac 2.5-liter "Iron Duke" engine.

FC Models

FC-150: These forward-control trucks made from 1956 to 1965 were CJ-5 models with a pickup bed. 

FC-170: Made between 1957 and 1965, these included the Willys Super Hurricane engine.

Willys Wagon

Willys Wagon and Willys Pickup: These were full-sized trucks with a pickup body style. They included the Willys Wagon made between 1946 and 1965, and the Willys Pickup made between 1947 and 1965.

Other Models

FJ: These fleet-van Jeeps were manufactured between 1961 and 1965. They were similar to the DJ-3A but included a van body. The FJ-3 had horizontal grill slots and was used as a postal truck. The FJ-3A was longer and was used for other hauling purposes. 

SJ: These included the Wagoneers made from 1963 to 1983, as well as the J-series, made from 1963 to 1988. Also included are the Super Wagoneers, which were known as the original luxury SUVs, made from 1966 to 1969. The Cherokee was made from 1974 to 1983, the Grand Wagoneer was made from 1984 to 1991, and the Jeepster Commando was produced from 1966 to 1971. 

VJ: Also known as Willys Jeepster, this roadster was made from 1948 to 1950. 

XJ: These vehicles include the Jeep Cherokee models that were made from 1984 to 2001, considered the most popular Jeeps of all time. This Jeep model year code also applies to the Wagoneer Limiteds produced from 1984 to 1990, which had more luxuries. 

MJ: Made from 1986 to 1992, this was a pickup version of the Cherokee with a single body.

YJ: The Wranglers made from 1987 to 1995 had larger U-joints and a more efficient engine.

ZJ: These include the Grand Cherokees that were made from 1993 to 1998, and the Grand Wagoneers made in 1993.

TJ: These Jeep Wranglers were produced from 1997 to 2006, and they replaced the YJ. They included the Wrangler Unlimited, or four-door Wrangler.

WJ: This Jeep code refers to the Grand Cherokees that were made from 1999 to 2004. 

KJ: The Jeep Liberty generated from 2002 to 2007 was part of this class. 

WK: The Grand Cherokee made from 2005 to 2010 had more of a car-like drive.

XK: From 2006 to 2010, Jeep made the Commander, which was a seven-passenger Jeep. 

JK: JK models refer to the Jeep Wranglers made from 2007 to 2017 that included three-piece hardtop roofs.

JKU: The four-door Wrangler that was made from 2007 to the present.

MK: Also known as the Compass or Patriot, these models were made starting in 2007 as fuel-efficient crossovers.

KK: The KK refers to the Jeep Liberty that was produced from 2008 to 2012 that replaced the KJ. Some models operate on E-85 fuel.

WK2: WK2 refers to the Grand Cherokee produced from 2011 to the present, whose 3.6-liter V6 engine replaced the WK.

KL: This Jeep refers to the Jeep Cherokee made from 2014 to 2017. It included a trail-rated edition of the vehicle known as the Cherokee Trailhawk.

BU: The Renegade first went into production in 2015. It is a 4x4 compact SUV with a trail-rated edition called the Renegade Trailhawk.

JL: This code refers to the Jeep Wranglers made for the 2018–2019 production year that feature a diesel-engine option.