WGC HSBC Champions

Fun facts, past champs and more history from the WGC tournament in China

Bubba Watson celebrates his birdie putt and victory on the first play-off hole during the final round of the WGC HSBC Champions in 2014.
Bubba Watson celebrates after making a birdie putt for the win on the first playoff hole at the 2014 WGC HSBC Champions tournament. Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

The HSBC Champions tournament is a World Golf Championships (WGC) event. The HSBC Champions is part of the PGA Tour, European Tour and Asian Tour schedules. Prior to the 2013 tournament, if fell outside of the USPGA Tour schedule, but the winner was credited with an official win in PGA Tour recordkeeping (earnings did not count toward the PGA Tour money list, however). Beginning with its 2013-14 season, however, the PGA Tour began recognizing this event as an official PGA Tour tournament.

The HSBC Champions uses qualifying criteria from the WGC series, based primarily on wins in big events and world rankings. The field is 78 golfers and there is no cut.

2019 Tournament
Rory McIlroy defeated the defending champ, Xander Schauffele, in a playoff — one year after Schaffele had won this event in a playoff. After they finished 72 holes tied at 19-under 269, McIlroy won it with a birdie on the first extra hole. It was his 18th career win on the PGA Tour, his fourth in 2019. 

2018 Tournament
Xander Schauffele needed a playoff, but in the end he won the championship. Schauffele and Tony Finau finished 72 holes tied at 14-under 274. On the first playoff hole, Schauffele won it with a birdie to Finau's par. It was Schauffele's third career win.

2017 Tournament
Justin Rose began the final round eight strokes behind leader Dustin Johnson. But Johnson's final-round 77 opened the door, and Rose's final-round 67 closed out the win for him. Rose finished at 14-under 274, two better than Johnson. Johnson tied for second with Henrik Stenson and Brooks Koepka. It was Rose's eighth career win on the PGA Tour.

Official Website
PGA Tour tournament site

HSBC Champions Records:

  • 72 holes: 264 - Dustin Johnson, 2013
  • 18 holes: 60 - Brandt Snedeker, 2012

HSBC Champions Courses:

After one year away, at Mission Hills Golf Club in Shenzhen, China, the tournament returned in 2013 to Sheshan International Golf Club in Shanghai, where it had previously been played.

HSBC Champions Trivia and Notes:

  • The HSBC Champions tournament was first played in 2005 as a co-sanctioned event on the European and Asian tours. It was given WGC status beginning with the 2009 tournament.
  • Beginning with the 2010 tournament, the PGA Tour counted the HSBC Champions as an official win on the U.S. tour, as well, although the tournament followed the completion of the PGA Tour's schedule. ... Until 2013, that is, when the PGA Tour switched to a wraparound schedule, bringing this event into the early portion of its schedule.
  • When the tournament was first played in 2005, it was the season-opening event on the 2006 European Tour schedule. The Euro Tour used to follow a November-through-November calendar. Today, the Euro Tour follows the standard calendar year, so the HSBC Champions - still played in November - is now a late-season Euro Tour tournament.
  • David Howell won the inaugural HSBC Champions in 2005, holding off runner-up Tiger Woods.
  • Woods was runner-up again in 2006, when Y.E. Yang won. It was Yang's first victory outside of the Asian and Japan tours (although the Asian Tour was a cosponsor at that time). A couple years later, Yang held off Woods again to win the 2009 PGA Championship.
  • Phil Mickelson was the first golfer to win the event twice (2007, 2009).
  • Bubba Watson won the first-ever playoff in tournament history at the 2014 event, beating Tim Clark with a 20-foot birdie putt. That was after Watson forced the playoff by holing out a bunker shot for eagle on the 72nd hole.
  • With his win in 2016, Japanese golfer Hideki Matsuyama became the first Asian golfer to win a WGC tournament.

Winners of the WGC HSBC Champions Golf Tournament (p-won playoff):

2019 - Rory McIlroy-p, 269
2018 - Xander Schauffele-p, 274
2017 - Justin Rose, 274
2016 - Hideki Matsuyama, 265
2015 - Russell Knox, 268
2014 - Bubba Watson-p, 277
2013 - Dustin Johnson, 264
2012 - Ian Poulter, 267
2011 - Martin Kaymer, 268
2010 - Franceso Molinari, 269
2009 - Phil Mickelson, 271
2008 - Sergio Garcia, 274
2007 - Phil Mickelson, 278
2006 - Y.E. Yang, 274
2005 - David Howell, 268