WGC Dell Technologies Match Play Championship

WGC Accenture Match Play Championship trophy
This trophy awaits the winner of the WGC Accenture Match Play Championship. The trophy is called the 'Walter Hagen Cup.'. Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

The WGC Dell Technologies Match Play Championship is part of the World Golf Championships series of tournaments. This event is played at match play, rather than stroke play, and begins with a field of 64 golfers. The final two golfers standing face off in the championship match. (More on format below.)

Beginning in 2016, the tournament moved to Austin, Texas, and Dell Computers became the title sponsor. (The tournament had typically been played in Arizona or California previously, and Cadillac as the sponsor most immediately prior to Dell.)

2020 Tournament

  • When: March 26-29, 2020
  • Where: Austin Country Club in Austin, Texas 

2019 Tournament

Kevin Kisner, who lost in the championship match in 2018, this time won it. Kisner defeated Matt Kuchar by a 3-and-2 score for the trophy. To reach the final match, Kisner defeated Franceso Molinari in the semifinals.

2018 Tournament
Bubba Watson knocked off Kevin Kisner in the championship match to win the trophy. Watson's winning score of 7-and-6 was the biggest in the history of the tournament's 18-hole finals (Tiger Woods once won a 36-hole championship match 8-and-7). It was Watson's 11th career win on the PGA Tour. Alex Noren, beaten by Kisner in the semifinals, defeated Justin Thomas in the third-place match.

Official Web site

WGC Match Play Championship Format:

The field for the WGC Match Play Championship is comprised of the Top 64 available golfers from the Official World Golf Rankings, who are seeded 1-64 according to their rankings. But in addition to the tournament's date, the event's format also changed beginning in 2015.

The golfers are divided into 16 groups of four golfers each, with the players ranked 1-16 automatically getting the highest seed in each group. The first three days consist of round-robin play within each group (each player faces the other three in his group).

After three days, the field is whittled to the 16 group winners, who then continue playing single-elimination match play until the champion is crowned. The Round of 16 and quarterfinal matches are played on Saturday; the semifinals, third-place match and championship match on Sunday.

WGC Match Play Championship Golf Courses:

The WGC Match Play Championship, beginning in 2016, is played at Austin Country Club in Austin, Texas. Previously, this tournament was played at:

  • TPC Harding Park, San Francisco, Calif., 2015
  • The Gallery Golf Club at Dove Mountain, Tucson, Ariz., 2007-2014
  • La Costa Resort and Spa, Carlsbad, Calif., 1999-2000, 2002-2006
  • The Metropolitan Club, South Oakleigh, Victoria, Australia, 2001

WGC Match Play Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Jeff Maggert won the first WGC Match Play Championship in 1999. That was the first WGC tournament played, making Maggert the first-ever WGC champion.
  • Tiger Woods has the most victories in this tournament with three. Woods won back-to-back in 2003-04, then added his third victory in 2008.
  • The only other multiple winners so far are Geoff Ogilvy and Jason Day. Ogilvy won in 2006 and again in 2009. (Woods and Ogilvy each also lost once in the championship match.) Day Won in 2014 and 2016.

Previous Tournament Winners

WGC Dell Match Play Championship

2019 - Kevin Kisner def. Matt Kuchar, 3 and 2
2018 - Bubba Watson def. Kevin Kisner, 7 and 6
2017 - Dustin Johnson def. Jon Rahm, 1-up
2016 - Jason Day def. Louis Oosthuizen, 5 and 4
2015 - Rory McIlroy def. Gary Woodland, 4 and 2
2014 - Jason Day def. Victor Dubuisson, 1-up (23 holes)
2013 - Matt Kuchar def. Hunter Mahan, 2 and 1
2012 - Hunter Mahan def. Rory McIlroy, 2 and 1
2011 - Luke Donald def. Martin Kaymer, 3 and 2
(Prior to 2011 championship matches were 36 holes)
2010 - Ian Poulter def. Paul Casey, 4 and 2
2009 - Geoff Ogilvy def. Paul Casey, 4 and 3
2008 - Tiger Woods def. Stewart Cink, 8 and 7
2007 - Henrik Stenson def. Geoff Ogilvy, 2 and 1
2006 - Geoff Ogilvy def. Davis Love III, 3 and 2
2005 - David Toms def. Chris DiMarco, 6 and 5
2004 - Tiger Woods def. Davis Love III, 3 and 2
2003 - Tiger Woods def. David Toms, 2 and 1
2002 - Kevin Sutherland def. Scott McCarron, 1-up
2001 - Steve Stricker def. Pierre Fulke, 2 and 1
2000 - Darren Clarke def. Tiger Woods, 4 and 3
1999 - Jeff Maggert def. Andrew Magee, 1-up (38 holes)