U.S. Women's Open Golf Tournament

Brittany Lang holds the US Women's Open trophy after winning in 2016
2016 US Women's Open champion Brittany Lang with the trophy. Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

The U.S. Women's Open, conducted by the United States Golf Association, has been held every year since 1946. The first tournament was played at match play, but in every other year the format has been stroke play.

2020 Tournament

  • When: June 4-7, 2020
  • Where: Champions Golf Club in Houston, Texas
  • Ticket info

2019 US Women's Open

Jeongeun Lee6, a rookie on the LPGA Tour but a 7-time winner on the KLPGA, won by two strokes. Lee6 (she adopted the 6 on her name when there were already five KLPGA golfers named Jeongeun Lee) carded a 1-under 70 in the final round, the only player among the last few groups to get under par in Round 4. The runners-up, Angel Yin, Lexi Thompson and So Yeon Ryu, were at 280. Final Scores

2018 US Women's Open

Ariya Jutanugarn won the tournament despite blowing a 7-stroke lead with just nine holes to play. Jutanugarn was in control and running away with in the final round before stumbling on the back nine. She triple-bogeyed the 10th and bogeyed the 12th, then finished the final round with consecutive bogeys on 17 and 18. Hyo Joo Kim, meanwhile, en route to a final round 67, had five birdies and zero bogeys in the final round. The result is that they tied at 11-under 277, and so entered a two-hole, aggregate-score playoff. But after those two holes, they remained tied and so continued into sudden death. Finally, on the fourth extra hole, Jutanugarn won it Kim made bogey. Final Scores

US Women's Open Records

  • Low round: 63 — Helen Alfredsson, first round, 1994
  • Low total: 272 - Annika Sorenstam, 1996; Juli Inkster, 1999

More U.S. Women's Open Records

US Women's Open Golf Courses

Recent Sites

  • 2019 - Country Club of Charleston, Charleston, S.C.
  • 2018 - Shoal Creek Country Club, Shoal Creek, Alabama
  • 2017 - Trump National, Bedminster, N.J.
  • 2016 - CordeValle Golf Club, San Martin, Calif.
  • 2015 - Lancaster Country Club, Lancaster, Pa.
  • 2014 - Pinehurst Resort's No. 2 Course in Pinehurst, North Carolina
  • 2013 - Sebonack Golf Club, Southampton, N.Y.
  • 2012 - Blackwolf Run, Kohler, Wisc.
  • 2011 - The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Future Sites

  • 2020 - Champions Golf Club, Houston, Texas
  • 2021 - Olympic Club, San Francisco, Calif.

US Women's Open Trivia and Notes

  • The U.S. Women's Open is the only USGA championship that was started by another organization. The Women's Professional Golf Association, a precursor to the LPGA, founded the Women's Open in 1946. The USGA took over the tournament in 1953.
  • The purse for the first Women's Open totaled $19,700. According to the USGA, that sum was raised by the Spokane (Wash.) Athletic Round Table through that organization's slot machine proceeds.
  • Patty Berg defeated Betty Jameson, 5-and-4, in the 36-hole championship match of the first U.S. Women's Open in 1946, which is also the only time match play has been the format.
  • Betsy Rawls was the first four-time winner of the U.S. Women's Open, and Mickey Wright the only other four-time winner.
  • The U.S. Women's Open was first televised in 1965, when only the final round was shown.
  • Nancy Lopez finished second as an amateur in 1975, but never won this tournament.
  • Fourteen golfers have won the U.S. Women's Open to record their first recognized LPGA Tour victory. Those include Donna Caponi (1969), Laura Davies (1987) and Annika Sorenstam (1995).
  • In 2007, Alexis Thompson became the youngest golfer to make it through qualifying and into the U.S. Women's Open, at 12 years, 4 months. But the youngest player in the field was Beverly Klass, who was just 10 1/2 years old when she played in 1967 (there was no qualifying at that time).
  • Inbee Park won her second overall U.S. Women's Open in 2013, but it was her third consecutive major championship win of the year. Park became only the second player in the history of women's pro golf to win the first three majors of the season.

Winners of the US Women's Open

Recent winners:

2019 - Jeongeun Lee6
2018 - Ariya Jutanugarn-p
2017 - Sung Hyun Park
2016 - Brittany Lang
2015 - In Gee Chun
2014 - Michelle Wie
2013 - Inbee Park
View the Full List of U.S. Women's Open Winners