US Senior Open Golf Tournament

Facts, history about the biggest tourney in senior golf

Gene Sauers celebrates his victory at the 2016 US Senior Open
Gene Sauers celebrates his victory at the 2016 US Senior Open. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The U.S. Senior Open, conducted by the United States Golf Association (USGA), has been played annually since 1980. Local and sectional qualifiers are played for this national championship, just as for the U.S. Open and U.S. Women's Open. The format is four rounds of stroke play, with a cut after two rounds.

The U.S. Senior Open is one of the five majors in senior golf and is the most prestigious of the Champions Tour majors.

2020 U.S. Senior Open

  • When: June 25-28, 2020
  • Where: Newport Country Club in Newport, R.I.
  • Ticket info

2019 Tournament
Steve Stricker shaved three strokes off the tournament scoring record in winning his second senior major. Earlier in 2019, Stricker won the Tradition. He won this U.S. Senior Open by opening with a tournament-record-tying 62, and finishing with a record-breaking score of 19-under 261. Stricker won by six strokes over Jerry Kelly and the 2018 champ David Toms.

2018 US Senior Open
David Toms, a PGA Championship winner on the "regular" tour, won this tournament for his first senior major. Toms sank a test par putt on the final hole to finish at 3-under 277. He won by a single stroke over runners-up Miguel Angel Jimenez, Tim Petrovic and Jerry Kelly. It was Toms' first win overall on the Champions Tour, too.

Official Web site

U.S. Senior Open Scoring Records

  • Low round: 62 - Loren Roberts, third round, 2006; Kirk Triplett, first round, 2017; David Toms, first round, 2019; Steve Stricker, first round, 2019
  • Low total: 261 - Steve Stricker, 2019

U.S. Senior Open Trivia and Notes

  • The first U.S. Senior Open was for golfers ages 55 and up, but in 1981 the minimum age was lowered to 50.
  • Roberto de Vicenzo won the first U.S. Senior Open, with amateur William C. Campbell runner-up.
  • Miller Barber is the only three-time winner of this event, taking the title in 1982, 1984 and 1985.
  • Three golfers have won the title in back-to-back years: Barber (1984-85), Gary Player (1987-88), and Allen Doyle (2005-06).
  • Don Pooley is the only U.S. Senior Open champion to win after playing his way into the tournament through qualifying. Pooley won in 2002.
  • In case of playoff, a 3- or 4-hole aggregate playoff is used. But before that switch was made, there were four 18-hole playoffs: in 1981, Arnold Palmer defeated Bob Stone and Billy Casper; in 1983 Casper defeated Rod Funseth in 19 holes; in 1988 Gary Player defeated Bob Charles; and in 1991 Jack Nicklaus defeated Chi Chi Rodriguez.
  • In 2017, Kenny Perry won his second championship in this event, and did so by lowering the tournament scoring record by three shots. Perry's 264 bettered the previous record shared by Hale Irwin (2000) and ... Kenny Perry (2013). So in both Perry's wins, he tied or broke scoring records.
  • But in 2019, Steve Stricker lowered the tournament scoring record further, winning with a 261 score.

Recent U.S. Senior Open Winners

2018 - David Toms
2017 - Kenny Perry
2016 - Gene Sauers
2015 - Jeff Maggert
2014 - Colin Montgomerie
2013 - Kenny Perry
Full List of U.S. Senior Open Winners

Future Sites

  • 2019: The Warren Course (University of Notre Dame), South Bend, Ind.
  • 2020: Newport Country Club, Newport, R.I.
  • 2021: Omaha (Neb.) Country Club
  • 2022: Saucon Valley Country Club, Bethlehem, Pa.