US Senior Open Champions

Plus the tournament's golf courses and playoff results

Gene Sauers poses with the Francis D Ouimet trophy after winning the 2016 US Senior Open
Gene Sauers lost the 2014 US Senior Open in a playoff, but won it for himself in 2016. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The U.S. Senior Open is the biggest golf tournament in senior golf. It is one of the five major championships of the Champions Tour. This event is run by the USGA and is open to golfers over the age of 50. The winner receives the Francis D. Ouimet Trophy. It was first played in 1980.

Below is the full list of champions at the U.S. Senior Open, plus the golf courses where it was played and the results of playoffs. We'll start with the list of multiple winners.

Golfers With the Most Wins

So far in tournament history, there have been five multiple winners.

Barber, Player and Doyle are the only back-to-back champions.

Winners of the US Senior Open: The List

Here is the full list of champions at the U.S. Senior Open golf tournament (p-won playoff):

Year Winner, Score Golf Course
2019 Steve Stricker, 261 Warren Course at Notre Dame, South Bend, Ind.
2018 David Toms, 277 The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2017 Kenny Perry, 264 Salem Country Club, Peabody, Mass.
2016 Gene Sauers, 277 Scioto Country Club, Upper Arlington, Ohio
2015 Jeff Maggert, 270 Del Paso Country Club, Sacramento, Calif.
2014 Colin Montgomerie, p-279 Oak Tree National, Edmond, Okla.
2013 Kenny Perry, 267 Omaha Country Club, Omaha, Neb.
2012 Roger Chapman, 270 Indianwood Golf & Country Club, Lake Orion, Mich.
2011 Olin Browne, 269 Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio
2010 Bernhard Langer, 272 Sahalee Country Club, Sammamish, Wash.
2009 Fred Funk, 268 Crooked Stick Golf Club, Carmel, Ind.
2008 Eduardo Romero, 274 Broadmoor Golf Club, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2007 Brad Bryant, 282 Whistling Straits Country Club, Straits Course, Kohler, Wisc.
2006 Allen Doyle, 272 Prairie Dunes Country Club, Hutchinson Kan.
2005 Allen Doyle, 274 NCR Country Club, South Course, Kettering, Ohio
2004 Peter Jacobsen, 272 Bellerive Country Club, St. Louis, Mo.
2003 Bruce Lietzke, 277 Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio
2002 Don Pooley, p-274 Caves Valley Golf Club, Baltimore, Md.
2001 Bruce Fleisher, 280 Salem Country Club, Peabody, Mass.
2000 Hale Irwin, 267 Saucon Valley Country Club, Old Course, Bethlehem, Pa.
1999 Dave Eichelberger, 281 Des Moines Golf & Country Club, West Des Moines, Iowa
1998 Hale Irwin, 285 Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
1997 Graham Marsh, 280 Olympia Fields Country Club, Olympia Fields Ill.
1996 Dave Stockton, 277 Canterbury Golf Club, Beachwood, Ohio
1995 Tom Weiskopf, 275 Congressional Country Club, Bethesda, Md.
1994 Simon Hobday, 274 Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, No. 2, Pinehurst, N.C.
1993 Jack Nicklaus, 278 Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, No. 2, Pinehurst, N.C.
1992 Larry Laoretti, 275 Saucon Valley Country Club, Old Course, Bethlehem, Pa.
1991 Jack Nicklaus, p-282 Oakland Hills Country Club, South Course, Birmingham, Mich.
1990 Lee Trevino, 275 Ridgewood Country Club, Center & West nines, Paramus, N.J.
1989 Orville Moody, 279 Laurel Valley Golf Club, Ligonier, Pa.
1988 Gary Player, p-288 Medinah Country Club, No. 3, Medinah, Ill.
1987 Gary Player, 270 Brooklawn Country Club, Fairfield, Conn.
1986 Dale Douglass, 279 Scioto Country Club, Columbus, Ohio
1985 Miller Barber, 285 Edgewood Tahoe Golf Club, Stateline, Nev.
1984 Miller Barber, 286 Oak Hill Country Club, East Course, Rochester, N.Y.
1983 Billy Casper, p-288 Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.
1982 Miller Barber, 282 Portland Golf Club, Portland, Ore.
1981 Arnold Palmer, p-289 Oakland Hills Country Club, South Course, Birmingham, Mich.
1980 Roberto De Vicenzo, 285 Winged Foot Golf Club, Mamaroneck, N.Y.

Playoffs at the US Senior Open

So far there have been six playoffs at the U.S. Senior Open. The current playoff format is a 3-hole aggregate score, with sudden death after that if the golfers are still tied.

  • 2014: Colin Montgomerie defeated Gene Sauers, 12 (5-3-4) to 13 (5-4-4).
  • 2002: Don Pooley and Tom Watson completed the three holes tied at 12, so continued into sudden death. They matched 3s on the first hole, then Pooley won with a 3 to Watson's 4 on the second sudden-death hole.

The 2002 U.S. Senior Open was the first with the aggregate score format. Prior to that, playoffs were a full 18 holes.

  • 1991: Jack Nicklaus shot 65 to beat Chi Chi Rodriguez, who carded a 69.
  • 1988: Gary Player defeated Bob Charles, 68 to 70.
  • 1983: Billy Casper and Rod Funseth both carded 75s in the 18-hole playoff, so continued into sudden death. Casper won on the first sudden-death hole with a 3 to Funseth's 4.
  • 1981: Arnold Palmer won the playoff with a 70, defeating Bob Stone (74) and Casper (77).