US Senior Open Champions

Plus the tournament's golf courses and playoff results

Gene Sauers poses with the Francis D Ouimet trophy after winning the 2016 US Senior Open
Gene Sauers lost the 2014 US Senior Open in a playoff, but won it for himself in 2016. Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

The U.S. Senior Open is the biggest golf tournament in senior golf. It is one of the five major championships of the Champions Tour. This event is run by the USGA and is open to golfers over the age of 50. The winner receives the Francis D. Ouimet Trophy. It was first played in 1980.

Below is the full list of champions at the U.S. Senior Open, plus the golf courses where it was played and the results of playoffs.

We'll start with the list of multiple winners.

Golfers With the Most Wins

So far in tournament history, there have been five multiple winners.

Barber, Player and Doyle are the only back-to-back champions.

Winners of the US Senior Open: The List

Here is the full list of champions at the U.S. Senior Open golf tournament (p-won playoff):

YearWinner, ScoreGolf Course
2019Steve Stricker, 261Warren Course at Notre Dame, South Bend, Ind.
2018David Toms, 277The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2017Kenny Perry, 264Salem Country Club, Peabody, Mass.
2016Gene Sauers, 277Scioto Country Club, Upper Arlington, Ohio
2015Jeff Maggert, 270Del Paso Country Club, Sacramento, Calif.
2014Colin Montgomerie, p-279Oak Tree National, Edmond, Okla.
2013Kenny Perry, 267Omaha Country Club, Omaha, Neb.
2012Roger Chapman, 270Indianwood Golf & Country Club, Lake Orion, Mich.
2011Olin Browne, 269Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio
2010Bernhard Langer, 272Sahalee Country Club, Sammamish, Wash.
2009Fred Funk, 268Crooked Stick Golf Club, Carmel, Ind.
2008Eduardo Romero, 274Broadmoor Golf Club, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2007Brad Bryant, 282Whistling Straits Country Club, Straits Course, Kohler, Wisc.
2006Allen Doyle, 272Prairie Dunes Country Club, Hutchinson Kan.
2005Allen Doyle, 274NCR Country Club, South Course, Kettering, Ohio
2004Peter Jacobsen, 272Bellerive Country Club, St. Louis, Mo.
2003Bruce Lietzke, 277Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio
2002Don Pooley, p-274Caves Valley Golf Club, Baltimore, Md.
2001Bruce Fleisher, 280Salem Country Club, Peabody, Mass.
2000Hale Irwin, 267Saucon Valley Country Club, Old Course, Bethlehem, Pa.
1999Dave Eichelberger, 281Des Moines Golf & Country Club, West Des Moines, Iowa
1998Hale Irwin, 285Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
1997Graham Marsh, 280Olympia Fields Country Club, Olympia Fields Ill.
1996Dave Stockton, 277Canterbury Golf Club, Beachwood, Ohio
1995Tom Weiskopf, 275Congressional Country Club, Bethesda, Md.
1994Simon Hobday, 274Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, No. 2, Pinehurst, N.C.
1993Jack Nicklaus, 278Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, No. 2, Pinehurst, N.C.
1992Larry Laoretti, 275Saucon Valley Country Club, Old Course, Bethlehem, Pa.
1991Jack Nicklaus, p-282Oakland Hills Country Club, South Course, Birmingham, Mich.
1990Lee Trevino, 275Ridgewood Country Club, Center & West nines, Paramus, N.J.
1989Orville Moody, 279Laurel Valley Golf Club, Ligonier, Pa.
1988Gary Player, p-288Medinah Country Club, No. 3, Medinah, Ill.
1987Gary Player, 270Brooklawn Country Club, Fairfield, Conn.
1986Dale Douglass, 279Scioto Country Club, Columbus, Ohio
1985Miller Barber, 285Edgewood Tahoe Golf Club, Stateline, Nev.
1984Miller Barber, 286Oak Hill Country Club, East Course, Rochester, N.Y.
1983Billy Casper, p-288Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.
1982Miller Barber, 282Portland Golf Club, Portland, Ore.
1981Arnold Palmer, p-289Oakland Hills Country Club, South Course, Birmingham, Mich.
1980Roberto De Vicenzo, 285Winged Foot Golf Club, Mamaroneck, N.Y.

Playoffs at the US Senior Open

So far there have been six playoffs at the U.S. Senior Open. The current playoff format is a 3-hole aggregate score, with sudden death after that if the golfers are still tied.

  • 2014: Colin Montgomerie defeated Gene Sauers, 12 (5-3-4) to 13 (5-4-4).
  • 2002: Don Pooley and Tom Watson completed the three holes tied at 12, so continued into sudden death. They matched 3s on the first hole, then Pooley won with a 3 to Watson's 4 on the second sudden-death hole.

    The 2002 U.S. Senior Open was the first with the aggregate score format. Prior to that, playoffs were a full 18 holes.

    • 1991: Jack Nicklaus shot 65 to beat Chi Chi Rodriguez, who carded a 69.
    • 1988: Gary Player defeated Bob Charles, 68 to 70.
    • 1983: Billy Casper and Rod Funseth both carded 75s in the 18-hole playoff, so continued into sudden death. Casper won on the first sudden-death hole with a 3 to Funseth's 4.
    • 1981: Arnold Palmer won the playoff with a 70, defeating Bob Stone (74) and Casper (77).