Turkish Airlines Open on the European Tour

Victor Dubuisson of France poses with the trophy after victory in the 2015 Turkish Airlines Open
Victor Dubuisson shows off the trophy following the 2015 Turkish Airlines Open, his second victory in the tournament. Jan Kruger/Getty Images

The Turkish Airlines Open is a 72-hole, stroke play tournament on the European Tour. The tournament was first played in 2013. From the start this event has been part of the European Tour's "Final Series," the three "playoff" tournaments that culminate the tour's Race to Dubai points chase.

The 2018 Tournament will be held from November 1-4 at the Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort in Antalya, Turkey.

2020 Tournament

  • When: Nov. 5-8
  • Where: TBA

2019 Turkish Airlines Open
Tyrell Hatton won a six-man playoff to take the trophy. Hatton, Kurt Kitayama, Matthias Schwab, Erik Van Rooyen, Victor Perez and Benjamin Hebert all finished 72 holes tied at 20-under 268. Van Rooyen, Perez and Hebert were eliminated on the first playoff hole. Kitiyama fell out after the third extra hole. Finally, on the fourth extra hole, Hatton won it when Schwab made bogey.

2018 Tournament
Justin Rose made it back-to-back wins in this tournament, going to a playoff to secure the trophy again. Rose and Haotong Li tied at the end of 72 holes at 17-under 267. But Rose ended the playoff on the first extra hole, making a par to Li's bogey. It was Rose's 13th European Tour victory.

European Tour tournament site

Turkish Airlines Open Scoring Records

  • Overall: 264 - Victor Dubuisson, 2013; Thorbjorn Olesen, 2016
  • 18 holes: 61 - Jaco Van Zyl, 2015

Turkish Airlines Open Golf Course

The tournament moved to a new venue in 2016, the Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort outside of Antalya. The club's Championship Course was designed by Thomson Perrett & Lobb Golf Course Architects, the design firm headed by Peter Thomson. The golf course has floodlights installed that allow resort guests to keep playing into the night.

From 2013 to 2015, the tournament was played at the Montgomerie Maxx Royal course (designed by Colin Montgomerie) in Antalya.

Turkish Airlines Open Trivia and Notes

  • The inaugural champion was Victor Dubuisson in the tournament's 2013 debut. It was also the first European Tour victory for the Frenchman.
  • It didn't take long for the tournament to gain its first two-time winner: Dubuisson took the trophy again in 2015. His two victories in this tournament were Dubuisson's only European Tour wins through the 2015 season.
  • The tournament's second year, 2014, produced another first-time champ: Brooks Koepka.
  • Justin Rose joined Dubuisson as a two-time champ in 2018 by becoming the tournament's first back-to-back winner. Rose also won the first playoff in tournament history in 2018.

Winners of the European Tour Turkish Airlines Open

2019 - Tyrrell Hatton, 268
2018 - Justin Rose-p, 267
2017 - Justin Rose, 266
2016 - Thorbjorn Olesen, 264
2015 - Victor Dubuisson, 266
2014 - Brooks Koepka, 271
2013 - Victor Dubuisson, 264