Trophee Hassan II Golf Tournament

Rhys Davies 2010 Trophee Hassan II
Rhys Davies won the Trophee Hassan II tournament in 2010, the first year it was sanctioned by the European Tour. Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

The Trophee Hassan II is a golf tournament on the European Tour. It has been a European Tour event since 2010, but the tournament history goes back to 1971. A note about the name: Many sources, including the tournament's official English-language website, cite "Hassan II Golf Trophy" as the English name. However, the European Tour uses the French Trophee Hassan II, so that is what we use here.

The tournament is 72 holes of stroke play, is played in Morocco, and is named for the late Moroccan King Hassan II. It was King Hassan II who established the tournament.

2020 Tournament

  • When: June 4-7
  • Where: Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat, Morocco

2019 Tournament

In a final round in which nobody broke 70, Jorge Campillo's 71 was good for a two-stroke victory. It was the first career win on the European Tour for the 32-year-old Spanish golfer. Campillo finished at 9-under 283, two strokes ahead of runners-up Sean Crocker, Julian Suri and Erik Van Rooyen.

2018 Tournament
Alexander Levy birdied the second-to-last hole and claimed the one-stroke victory. Levy needed that birdie, too—he began the final round tied with Alvaro Quiros, who battled him all during the final round. Quiros finished with back-to-back birdies, but it wasn't enough after four bogeys earlier in the round. It was Levy's fifth career win on the European Tour.

Official website

European Tour tournament site

Trophee Hassan II Records

  • 18 holes: 62 - Thomas Bjorn, 2011; Alejandro Canizares, 2014
  • 72 holes: 266 - Rhys Davies, 2010

(Note: Tournament scoring records are taken only from tournaments since the European Tour began sanctioning.)

Trophee Hassan II Golf Courses

The first tournament sanctioned by the European Tour, in 2010, was played at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam, which had been the primary location since the event's inception, in Rabat, Morocco.

Since 2011, the host course has been Golf du Palais Royal in Agadir, a Robert Trent Jones Sr. design.

More about the Trophee Hassan II

  • The Trophee Hassan II golf tournament became part of the European Tour in 2010, but it was first played in 1971. For much of its pre-Euro Tour history, it was a limited-field, opposite-field event.
  • Concurrent with the men's tournament, a women's tournament sanctioned by the Ladies European Tour is also played in Morocco. That event is the Lalla Meryem Cup. This is the only current instance of major men's and women's tours staging tournaments in the same city at the same time.
  • Orville Moody was the winner of the inaugural tournament in 1971. Moody's only victory on the PGA Tour was the 1969 U.S. Open, but in 1971 he won in Morocco and also at the Hong Kong Open.
  • The first two-time winner of the Trophee Hassan II was Billy Casper, who won in 1973 and 1975.
  • The first golfer to win this event in back-to-back years was Payne Stewart, who did so in 1992-93.
  • The only 3-time winner to date is Spanish golfer Santiago Luna (1998, 2002, 2003).

Winners of the Trophee Hassan II

(p-won playoff)
2019 - Jorge Campillo, 283
2018 - Alexander Levy, 280
2017 - Edoardo Molinari-p, 283
2016 - Jeunghun Wang-p, 283
2015 - Richie Ramsay, 278
2014 - Alejandro Canizares, 269
2013 - Marcel Siem, 271
2012 - Michael Hoey, 271
2011 - David Horsey-p, 274
2010 - Rhys Davies, 266
2009 - Not played
2008 - Ernie Els
2007 - Padraig Harrington
2006 - Sam Torrance
2005 - Erik Compton
2004 - Not played
2003 - Santiago Luna
2002 - Santiago Luna
2001 - Joakim Haeggman
2000 - Roger Chapman
1999 - David Toms
1998 - Santiago Luna
1997 - Colin Montgomerie
1996 - Ignacio Garrido
1995 - Nick Price
1994 - Martin Gates
1993 - Payne Stewart
1992 - Payne Stewart
1991 - Vijay Singh
1986-90 - Not played
1985 - Ken Green
1984 - Roger Maltbie
1983 - Ron Streck
1982 - Frank Conner
1981 - Bob Eastwood
1980 - Ed Sneed
1979 - Mike Brannan
1978 - Peter Townsend
1977 - Lee Trevino
1976 - Salvador Balbuena
1975 - Billy Casper
1974 - Larry Ziegler
1973 - Billy Casper
1972 - Ron Cerrudo
1971 - Orville Moody