Shawna and Keifer Thompson Make Great (Country) Music Together

Husband-and-Wife Duo Finds Success as Thompson Square

thompson square lets fight album cover
Image courtesy of Stony Creek Records

Thompson Square is a country duo composed of husband and wife Keifer and Shawna Thompson. Shawna Thompson was raised in Chatom, Alabama, where she grew up listening to the likes of Alabama and Reba McEntire, and her father taught her how to play country songs on guitar.

Keifer Thompson grew up in Miami, Oklahoma, where he spent his youth listening to a diverse range of music: everything from Merle Haggard to heavy metal. He later honed his songwriting abilities once he started listening to artists like Bruce Springsteen and Tom Petty.

The duo moved to Nashville, Tennessee, during the same week and met each other at a songwriting competition a few days later. It was love at first sight. They both tried their hand at pursuing solo careers, but after a few years they decided to pair up and formed Thompson Square, with Shawna Thompson singing vocals and Keifer Thompson playing guitar and singing vocals.

But making it wasn't easy. It took the couple 15 years to build traction, and they finally signed with Stoney Creek Records at the beginning of 2010. They started working on their debut album soon after.


The duo's mix of classic rock, country and pop instantly made them popular among country fans. Thompson Square's first single, "Let's Fight," was released in June 2010, but it didn't crack the Billboard Country Singles Top 40. Their first real taste of success came a month later with the release of their second single, "Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not." It became their first No. 1 country single and has since been certified double platinum.

Their self-titled debut album was issued in early 2011 and debuted at No. 15 on the Billboard 200 and No. 3 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart. In 2011 and 2012 they were named Vocal Duo of the Year at the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Current Projects

Thompson Square headed back to the studio to cut their follow-up record, "Just Feels Good," which was released in 2013. The album's first single, "If I Didn't Have You," debuted toward the end of 2012 and reached No. 1 on the Country Airplay chart by May 2013. That same year they won the Vocal Duo of the Year at the Academy of Country Music Awards for the third time.

In 2015 they released the single "Trans Am" and appeared on the Blues Traveler's album  "Blow Up the Moon." They co-wrote and performed the songs "Matador" and "I Can Still Feel You." 


  • " Thompson Square" (2011)
  • " Just Feels Good" (2013)

Popular Songs

  • "Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not"
  • "If I Didn't Have You"
  • "Glass"
  • "Everything I Shouldn't Be Thinking About"
  • "I Got You"
  • "Let's Fight"