The Safeway Open Tournament on the PGA Tour

Tournament facts and figures, past champions and trivia

Jimmy Walker hits a tee shot on the second hole during the final round of the 2013 Open, where he earned his first victory.
Jimmy Walker earned his first career win on the PGA Tour in the Safeway Open. Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Grocery store chain Safeway took over title sponsorship of this tournament beginning in 2016, making it the Safeway Open. It was previously known as the Open.

This tournament was part of the PGA Tour's Fall Series through the 2012 season, but beginning with the 2013-14 season it became one of the tour's season-opening events, rather than season-closing.

The Safeway Open is the season-opening tournament on the tour's 2017-18 wraparound schedule, teeing off in October. It is a 72-hole, stroke-play tournament, and awards full FedEx Cup points.

2019 Tournament
Moments after Adam Hadwin birdied the final hole to tie the lead, Cameron Champ ran in his own birdie putt to take it back and claim the victory. Champ finished at 17-under 271, Hadwin at 272. It was Champ's second career win on the PGA Tour.

2018 Safeway Open
Kevin Tway won a three-way playoff to earn his first PGA Tour victory. In so doing, he added the Tway family to the list of father-son winners on the PGA Tour; his father Bob won multiple times. Tway, Ryan Moore and Brandt Snedeker all finished at 14-under 274. Snedeker was eliminated on the first extra hole. Tway and Moore matched scores on the second playoff hole, then Tway won it with a birdie on the third.

2017 Safeway Open
Brendan Steele repeated as champion and in so doing became this tournament's first 2-time winner. Steele closed with a 69 to finish at 15-under 273. That was two ahead of runner-up Tony Finau. Phil Mickelson tied for third place.

Official website
PGA Tour tournament site

Safeway Open Records

  • 72 holes - 262: Troy Matteson (2009), Rickie Fowler (2009), Jamie Lovemark (2009), Cameron Beckman (2008), Kevin Sutherland (2008)
  • 18 holes - 61: Mike Weir (2009), Troy Matteson (2009), Kevin Stadler (2008), Mark Hensby (2007)

Safeway Open Golf Course

The Safeway Open is currently played at Silverado Resort and Spa in Napa, California. It was previously played at CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin, Calif., and at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • In 2006 and 2007, the PGA Tour's Las Vegas tournament was called the Open. So in 2007, this event's inaugural year, the tour had both a Open (in Las Vegas) plus this tournament, then called the Fry's Electronics Open. In 2008, the Las Vegas tournament was renamed, becoming the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, and this event then switched to the Open name.
  • It continued under the Open name until 2016, when a new title sponsor, the Safeway grocery store chain, took over.
  • The tourney was played in Arizona in its first three years of existence, but moved to California beginning in 2010.
  • At the 2009 Open, Troy Matteson set a PGA Tour record with back-to-back rounds of 61. The record was for fewest strokes in consecutive rounds.
  • Despite that, Matteson needed a playoff to get the victory. The other members of the playoff were Jamie Lovemark and Rickie Fowler. Fowler was not yet a PGA Tour member, but the money he earned here helped him earn PGA Tour status.
  • In 2010, Rocco Mediate recorded an ace in the first round, then went on to win. In fact, Mediate holed out for eagle in all four rounds. The first-round ace was also technically an eagle; in the second round, he holed out from 160 yards on a par-3; in the third round, he holed out from 111 yards on a par-5; and in the final round Mediate holed out from 116 yards on a par-4.
  • Brendan Steele became this event's first two-time winner when he repeated as champion in 2016 and 2017.

Past Champions at the PGA Tour Safeway Open

(p-won playoff)

Safeway Open
2019 — Cameron Champ, 271
2018 — Kevin Tway-p, 274
2017 — Brendan Steele, 273
2016 — Brendan Steele, 270 Open
2015 — Emiliano Grillo-p, 273
2014 — Sang-Moon Bae, 273
2013 — Jimmy Walker, 267
2012 — Jonas Blixt, 268
2011 — Bryce Molder-p, 267
2010 — Rocco Mediate, 269
2009 — Troy Matteson-p, 262
2008 — Cameron Beckman-p, 262

Fry's Electronics Open
2007 — Mike Weir, 266