The Players Championship

Crowd around the 17th hole during The Players Championship
The island-green 17th hole at TPC Sawgrass is always a focal point during The Players Championship. Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

Outside of the four golf majors, The Players Championship is considered the most important tournament on tour. It is considered the PGA Tour's major (the four traditional majors are run by organizations other than the PGA Tour) and some believe it will eventually be accorded full major status (while others scoff at that idea). But The Players Championship is definitely the premier event on tour, outside of the majors.

The Players Championship is 72 holes of stroke play. It is currently played in May, but in 2019 will move back to March, a time on the PGA Tour schedule it occupied for much of its history.

Memorable Moments

From the "better than most" putt to watery doom, from a birdie stealing the ball to a players' revolt against the golf course, here the Most Memorable Moments at The Players Championship.

2020 Tournament

  • When: March 12-15, 2020
  • Where: TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. 

2019 Players Championship

Rory McIlroy opened with rounds of 67-65, then shot consecutive 70s on the weekend and won by a single stroke over Jim Furyk. It was McIlroy's first win of The Players Championship, but his 15th career win on the PGA Tour. In the final round, McIlroy birdied the 15th and 16th holes, then made two pars to close out the victory.

2018 Tournament
Webb Simpson took a seven-stroke lead after the third round, then cruised to a four-stroke victory. In the second round, Simpson tied the tournament's 18-hole record of 63. He finished at 18-under 270. Tied for second play, at 14-under, were Charl Schwartzel, Jimmy Walker and Xander Schauffele. It was Simpson's fifth career win on the PGA Tour, but his first since 2013.

Official Web site

PGA Tour Players Championship Records:

  • Overall: 264 - Greg Norman, 1994
  • Tournament course record: 63 - Fred Couples, 1992; Greg Norman, 1994; Roberto Castro, 2013; Martin Kaymer, 2014; Jason Day, 2016; Colt Knost, 2016; Webb Simpson, 2018; Brooks Koepka, 2018

Records for the 17th hole

PGA Tour Players Championship Golf Courses:

The Players Championship is played annually on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass, a golf course built specifically to host this tournament. TPC Sawgrass, in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., featured the famous island green par-3 at No. 17 and is considered one of the tougher golf courses in America. It has been the site of The Players Championship since 1982.

Other Host Courses

  • Atlanta Country Club, Marietta, Ga., 1974
  • Colonial Country Club, Fort Worth, Texas, 1975
  • Inverrary G&CC, Lauderhill, Fla., 1976
  • Sawgrass Country Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., 1977-81

PGA Tour Players Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The Players Championship was first played in 1974, when it was known as the Tournament Players Championship. It was played under that name until 1988, when the name changed to The Player Championship.
  • Jack Nicklaus won that first tournament in 1974.
  • Nicklaus also won in 1976 and 1978, and is the only three-time winner of this event.
  • The Players Championship has never had a back-to-back winner.
  • Two-time champions are Fred Couples (1984, 1996), Hal Sutton (1983, 2000), Davis Love III (1992, 2003), Steve Elkington (1991, 1997) and Tiger Woods (2001, 2013).
  • Jerry Pate (1982) was the first winner at TPC Sawgrass.
  • Fuzzy Zoeller posted the second-lowest 72-hole total in tournament history in 1994. Unfortunately for Fuzzy, Greg Norman posted the lowest total that same year. Norman shot 264, Zoeller 268.
  • Arnold Palmer made the cut in the 1985 Players Championship when he was 55 years, 172 days old - the second-oldest player to make the cut here. Ten years earlier, Julius Boros made the cut in the 1975 tournament at age 55 years, 174 days - two days older than Palmer was in 1985.
  • Only one golfer in tournament history has birdied the island-green 17th hole at TPC Sawgrass in all four rounds of the same tourney. Paul Azinger did it in 1987.
  • In 2014, the tournament switched from a sudden-death playoff format to a 3-hole, aggregate-score format. The three holes played are Nos. 16, 17 and 18.

PGA Tour Players Championship Winners:


2018 - Webb Simpson, 270
2017 - Si Woo Kim, 278
2016 - Jason Day, 273
2015 - Rickie Fowler, 276
2014 - Martin Kaymer, 275
2013 - Tiger Woods, 275
2012 - Matt Kuchar, 275
2011 - K.J. Choi, 275
2010 - Tim Clark, 272