The Evian Championship

Winners, plus history and trivia, of the LPGA major tournament

General view of the golf course during the Evian Championship tournament
Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

Two significant changes occurred with this LPGA Tour event beginning in 2013: Its name changed from "Evian Masters" to "The Evian Championship"; and its status changed. Formerly regarded as one of the top events on the LPGA Tour, beginning in 2013 the Evian was elevated to major championship status on the LPGA (it had always been regarded as a major by the Ladies European Tour).

The Evian Championship is one of the highest-paying tournaments in women's golf, many years matching the purse of the U.S. Women's Open. The tournament, played in France on the shores of Lake Geneva, is cosanctioned by the LPGA Tour and the LET.

2020 Tournament

  • When: July 23-26, 2020
  • Where: Evian Resort Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France

2019 Evian Championship

Jin Young Ko won by two strokes over a trio of second-place finishers. Ko's final score was 15-under 269, two better than runners-up Jennifer Kupcho, Shanshan Feng and Hyo Joo Kim. It was Ko's second major championship win of the year and her fifth overall LPGA victory.

Official Website

LPGA Tour tournament site

Evian Championship Records:

  • 18 holes: 61 - Hyo-Joo Kim, 2014
  • 72 holes: 263 - In Gee Chun, 2016

Evian Championship Golf Course:

The tournament has been played at Evian Masters Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France, for all but one year of its existence. In 2013, that golf course was renamed to The Evian Resort Golf Club.

Evian Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The Evian Masters was first played in 1994, and it became an official LPGA Tour event in 2000.
  • Helen Alfreddson won the inaugural 1994 tournament, and Annika Sorenstam won the 2000 LPGA debut.
  • Alfredsson is the only 3-time winner of the Evian Masters, also winning in 1998 and 2008. Sorenstam, Laura Davies and Ai Miyazato are the only other multiple champions.
  • Natalie Gulbis' first win on the LPGA Tour happened at the 2007 Evian when she defeated Jeong Jang on the first playoff hole.
  • Another golfer who got her first LPGA victory at the Evian is Ai Miyazato. Miyazato won the 2009 tournament, beating Sophie Gustafson on the first playoff hole.
  • In the first round of the 2014 Evian, 19-year-old Hyo-Joo Kim shot 10-under 61 - a new record for lowest score ever recorded in a major championship (men's or women's).
  • In Gee Chun set a couple more all-time scoring records in 2016. Her stroke total (263) and strokes under par (21-under) were both LPGA records in majors. Chun also became the first golfer, male or female, to win a major at 21-under.
  • When Lydia Ko won in 2015 it was her first major championship victory, and made her, at age 18 years, 4 months, the youngest-ever winner of a women's major.

Evian Championship Winners:

(p-won playoff; w-shortened by weather)

Evian Championship
2018 - Angela Stanford, 272
2017 - Anna Nordqvist-p-w, 204
2016 - In Gee Chun, 263
2015 - Lydia Ko, 268
2014 - Hyo Joo Kim, 273
2013 - Suzann Pettersen-w, 203

Evian Masters
(Note: Tournaments prior to 2013 were not counted as major championships.)
2012 - Inbee Park, 271
2011 - Ai Miyazato, 273
2010 - Jiyai Shin, 274
2009 - Ai Miyazato-p, 274
2008 - Helen Alfredsson-p, 273
2007 - Natalie Gulbis-p, 284
2006 - Karrie Webb, 272
2005 - Paula Creamer, 273
2004 - Wendy Doolan, 270
2003 - Juli Inkster, 267
2002 - Annika Sorenstam, 269
2001 - Rachel Hetherington, 273
2000 - Annika Sorenstam-p, 276
1999 - Catrin Nilsmark, 279
1998 - Helen Alfredsson, 277
1997 - Hiromi Kobayashi-p, 274
1996 - Laura Davies, 274
1995 - Laura Davies, 271
1994 - Helen Alfredsson, 287