Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship Golf Tournament

ydia Ko tees off on the first hole during the final round of the 2017 Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship
Lydia Ko tees off during the Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship. Power Sport Images/Getty Images

The Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship is a 72-hole, stroke-play golf tournament on the LPGA Tour. It debuted in 2011, becoming the first LPGA Tour tournament ever played in Taiwan. The Swinging Skirts organization (more on them below) took over as title sponsor beginning in 2017. The tournament field is limited to 90 golfers, and the event typically is played in October.

2019 Tournament

  • When: Oct. 30-Nov. 3, 2019
  • Where: course TBA, Taiwan

2018 Tournament
Nelly Korda, age 20, joined older sister Jessica as an LPGA Tour winner. Nelly entered the final round tied for the lead, then carded a round of 68. She finished at 13-under 275, two better than runner-up Minjee Lee.

2017 Recap
Eun-Hee Ji won won by six strokes for her first LPGA Tour victory since the 2009 U.S. Women's Open. Ji closed with a round of 65, finishing at 17-under 271. That was six better than runner-up Lydia Ko. Ji's win at the 2009 USWO was the sixth professional win of her career to that point, spread among the LPGA, Korean LPGA and Ladies Asian tours. But she had not won anywhere since — until the Swinging Skirts LPGA..

Why 'Swinging Skirts'?

What, or who, puts the "Swinging Skirts" into the name of an LPGA Tour event? Some golf fans complained about the name when it was first used, saying it verged on (or crossed into) sexism for an LPGA Tour event to use that name. One prominent golf writer once tweeted that it was the worst name of any pro golf tournament (our vote goes to Waste Management Phoenix Open).

So what gives? "Swinging Skirts Golf Team" is the name of a non-profit organization based in Taiwan. Its members include both men and women, and when they play golf in fund-raising or promotional events (including the pro-am at the Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship), they — the women and the men — wear colorful, funky skirts or kilts.

The mission of the Swinging Skirts Golf Team is the promotion of women's golf in Taiwan and around the world.

The organization first sponsored an LPGA tournament in 2014, the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic in California. That tournament was played three times, 2014-16, with Lydia Ko winning the first two and Haru Nomura the third.

When the LPGA's Taiwan tournament lost financial services company Fubon as title sponsor, following the 2016 edition, Swinging Skirts transferred its sponsorship to the tournament played in its home country. The California event was discontinued.

Winners of the Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship

These are the tournament winners, along with winning scores, with the tournament's previous titles also noted:

2018 — Nelly Korda, 275
2017 — Eun-Hee Ji, 271

Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championship
2016 — Ha-Na Jang, 271
2015 — Lydia Ko, 268
2014 — Inbee Park, 266

Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship
2013 — Suzann Pettersen, 279
2012 — Suzann Pettersen, 269
2011 — Yani Tseng, 272

Tournament Scoring Records

The 72-hole scoring record is held by Inbee Park, who won the 2014 tournament with a score of 266. In that same tournament, Park established the 18-hole scoring record of 62, and was matched by Mirim Lee. In 2016, Ha-Na Jang and Jodi Ewart-Shadoff tied the record with their own rounds of 62.

Golf Course of the LPGA Taiwan Championship

Miramar Resort and Country Club in the Taipei outskirts has been the site of this tournament since 2014. Miramar opened in 1994 and was designed by Jack Nicklaus. The course is open to the public and green fees are usually around $150. For the Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship, the golf course is a par-72 set up to play around 6,400 yards.

The original site was Sunrise Golf & Country Club, where the tournament was played from 2011 through 2013.

Bonus Trivia and Notes on the Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan Championship

  • Home-country favorite Yani Tseng won the first LPGA tournament played in Taiwan, this event in 2011, by five strokes. That was Tseng's 12th career victory and her seventh of 2011.
  • In the short history of the tournament, Suzann Pettersen is the only multiple winner, and only back-to-back winner. Pettersen won in 2012 and 2013.
  • Lydio Ko set the tournament's margin-of-victory record in 2015, when she finished nine strokes ahead of runners-up Eun-Hee Ji and So Yeon Ryu.
  • When Nelly Korda won in 2018, she joined older sister Jessica Korda as an LPGA winner. That made the Kordas just the third pair of sisters in tour history to both post victories.