NCAA Division I Baseball: How the Sites for Regionals Are Selected

Three schools have hosted more than 20 times: FSU, Miami, and LSU

2017 Division I Men's College World Series - Florida v LSU - Game 2
Peter Aiken / Getty Images

The NCAA Division 1 Baseball Committee determines the sites of regionals and super regionals. The 16 teams awarded a regional tournament are automatically selected to compete in the 64-team tournament. 

Each regional field consists of four teams that play a double-elimination tournament.

Generally speaking, the committee makes the No. 1 seed in each regional tournament the host team, although geographic and financial considerations can also be factors. The higher-seeded team will be the home team in the games and have the advantage of batting last.

When the committee selects teams for the tournament, they also seed the top eight teams. Those eight teams, should they advance to the regional round, will be hosts for the super-regional round. If a top-eight seed is eliminated in the regional round, the remaining teams in that bracket will bid to host the super-regional game. 

In the Super Regional, each team will have a turn being the home team in the first two games of the series. If needed, the home team for the final game is determined by a coin flip.

There are three schools that have hosted the regionals more than 20 times: Florida State, Miami, and LSU.

The College World Series is held at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska, each year.