What Songs Appear on the 'Sex and the City 2' Soundtrack?

Sex and the City 2
Water Tower Records

Though it received far less enthusiasm from fans and critics than the series or the original film, the 2010 film Sex and the City 2 -- the second spinoff movie from the popular HBO series -- was a big box office success, grossing nearly $300 million worldwide. Due to the popularity of the series, many artists wanted to be included on the soundtrack of the film.

The clothes, the romance, the globe-shopping adventure: Sex and the City 2 has it all, as Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker) and her friends (Kim Cattrall, Cynthia Nixon, and Kristin Davis) continue the story that began in their hit HBO series, making their mark not just in Manhattan, but everywhere. Carrie, Samantha, Miranda, and Charlotte only expect the best -- which is why even the soundtrack for their film has to be perfect.

Released by Water Tower Music digitally and in a 2-CD set on May 25, 2010 (two days before the release of the film), the Sex and the City 2 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, highlights some of the most exciting artists of our time, including a team-up between Jennifer Hudson and Leona Lewis, Alicia Keys, Dido, and Cee-Lo as well as others. With 17 tracks, the Sex and the City 2 soundtrack even gives the film's female foursome -- Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, and Cynthia Nixon -- a turn in the spotlight, singing Helen Reddy's classic hit: "I Am Woman."

Standout tracks include Alicia Keys' cover of the Blondie classic "Rapture" and Liza Minnelli's cover of Beyoncé's "Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)." It also includes a mix of new material, older songs (Cyndi Lauper's "True Colors") and covers of classic standards (Shayna Steele, Jordan Ballard, Kamilah Marshall's “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered”).

Sex and the City 2 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack peaked at #13 on the U.S. Billboard 200 and #2 on the U.S. Billboard Soundtrack Chart. It also reached #2 on the Australian Albums Chart, #2 on the Irish Top 30 Compilation Chart, #7 on the UK Compilation Chart, and #15 on the Italian Compilation Chart.

Sex and the City 2 Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Track List:

  1. Alicia Keys – “Rapture”
  2. Dido – “Everything to Lose”
  3. Cee-Lo – “Language of Love”
  4. Erykah Badu – “Window Seat”
  5. Natacha Atlas – “Kidda”
  6. Michael McGregor – “Euphrates Dream”
  7. Liza Minnelli – “Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)”
  8. Ricki-Lee – “Can’t Touch It”
  9. Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind (Part II) Broken Down”
  10. Jennifer Hudson and Leona Lewis – “Love Is Your Color”
  11. Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Kristin Davis, Cynthia Nixon – “I Am Woman”
  12. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – “If Ever I Would Leave You”
  13. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – “Sunrise, Sunset”
  14. Sex and the City Men’s Choir – “Till There Was You”
  15. Shayna Steele, Jordan Ballard, Kamilah Marshall – “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered”
  16. Liza Minnelli with Billy Stritch – “Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye”
  17. Cyndi Lauper - "True Colors"
  18. Aaron Zigman – “Divas and Dunes”

On June 29, 2010, Water Tower Music released the Sex and the City 2: Original Motion Picture Score album which contained the score composed by Aaron Zigman, who also composed the score for the previous Sex and the City film and other movies like The Notebook and John Q.

Sex and the City 2 Original Motion Picture Score Album Track List:

  1. "Divas and Dunes"
  2. "Welcome To Abu Dhabi"
  3. "I'm Downstairs"
  4. "Meeting Erin"
  5. "Arrive At Souk"
  6. "Carrie Wonders / Airport Arrival"
  7. "Samantha Talks To Smith / Carrie's Arrival"
  8. "Call The Girls / It Happened One Night"
  9. "Meeting Erin / Miranda / Arrival At Connecticut"
  10. "Airport"
  11. "Confiscate Drugs"
  12. "Carrie Sees Aidan"
  13. "Breakfast / Jeep Guy"
  14. "Breakfast pt.2"
  15. "Dress For Date"
  16. "I Have Condoms"
  17. "Hookah Lounge"
  18. "Phone Call"
  19. "Samantha Released"
  20. "Packing"
  21. "Watch"
  22. "Fashion"
  23. "Sneaking Burkas"
  24. "Home Without Big"
  25. "Big Is Back"