All About the Hard Rock Band 'Seether'


Promo photo by Marina Chavez

Seether is a hard rock band formed in Pretoria, South Africa in May 1999. The band released their debut album, Fragile, in 2000 performing under the name Saron Gas until 2002. When the band was signed by U.S. record label Wind-up Records they changed their name to Seether – due to their previous name sounding like the lethal nerve agent sarin gas. Seether has been classified as post-grunge – a form of hard rock inspired by the 90's Seattle grunge movement.

Seether Breaks Into the Mainstream

Seether's major label debut, Disclaimer, was released on August 20, 2002, and produced the U.S. Active Rock No. 1 single "Fine Again." During 2002, Seether frontman Shaun Morgan began a relationship with Evanescence singer Amy Lee when their bands played summer festivals together. Seether delayed recording their second album, choosing instead to re-record their acoustic ballad "Broken" as an epic string-enhanced, electric ballad duet with Amy Lee. The band also re-recorded and remixed Disclaimer adding additional songs and released Disclaimer ll on June 15, 2004. "Broken" (featuring Amy Lee) became Seether's highest charting single ever on the Billboard Hot 100 chart reaching No. 20. Disclaimer and Disclaimer ll eventually achieved U.S. gold and platinum sales respectively. Seether supported Evanescence on tour in 2004.

'Karma and Effect'

Seether's third album, Karma and Effect, produced by Bob Marlette (Shinedown, Filter) was released May 24, 2005. The album's original title, Catering to Cowards, was changed due to record label demands. Karma and Effect debuted at No. 8 on the U.S. Billboard 200 album chart and yielded Seether's first No. 1 Mainstream Rock chart hit "Remedy." After the album's touring cycle was completed, lead guitarist Patrick Callahan left the band June 16, 2006 – after touring and recording with Seether since 2002. Shaun Morgan began a stint in rehab for treatment of "a combination of substances" in August 2007 on the same day his ex-girlfriend Amy Lee's band, Evanescence, released "Call Me When You're Sober" – a song she wrote about Morgan – to rock radio stations.

'Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces'

After completing rehab, Morgan and Seether recorded their fourth studio album, Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces, which was produced by Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, Papa Roach). The album was released October 23, 2007, debuting at No. 9 on the Billboard 200 album chart. The first single "Fake It" topped both the U.S. Mainstream Rock Charts and Modern Rock Charts for at least nine weeks. The second single and Seether's most heart-wrenching song, "Rise Above This," was written for Shaun Morgan's brother, Eugene, in an attempt to bring him out of severe depression. Tragically Eugene committed suicide while on tour with Seether on August 13, 2007. Morgan has "1308" tattooed on his right fingers and "2007" tattooed on his left fingers to mark the date of Eugene's passing. In a July 2007 MTV interview, Morgan hinted that third single "Breakdown" could be a "lament rather than an angry backlash” to Amy Lee's lyrics about him in Evanescence's "Call Me When You're Sober."

'Holding Onto Strings Better Left to Fray'

Seether's fifth studio album, Holding Onto Strings Better Left to Fray, produced by Brendan O'Brien (Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots) was released May 17, 2011. The album debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 album chart – Seether's highest charting album to date. It is Seether's only full album that features their touring guitarist since mid-2008, Troy McLawhorn. McLawhorn left Seether shortly after the album's release to tour and record with Evanescence – which caused public feuding between Morgan and McLawhorn over social media. The album yielded the hit singles "Country Song" and "Tonight."

'Isolate and Medicate'

In 2013 and 2014, Seether returned to the studio with producer Brendan O'Brien to record their sixth studio album as a trio. Isolate and Medicate was released July 1, 2014, and was preceded by the album's first single "Words as Weapons," released May 1, 2014. Isolate and Medicate debuted at No. 4 on the Billboard 200 album chart. Bryan Wickmann, the band's longtime guitar tech and Isolate and Medicate cover art creator, was announced as new touring guitarist on April 29, 2014. Seether released videos for the album's four singles: "Words as Weapons," "Same Damn Life," "Nobody Praying for Me," and "Save Today." 

Seether Lineup

  • Shaun Morgan – vocals, guitar
  • Dale Stewart – bass, backing vocals
  • John Humphrey – drums

Key Seether Songs

  • "Fine Again" 
  • "Broken" (featuring Amy Lee) 
  • "Remedy" 
  • "Fake It" 
  • "Rise Above This" 
  • "Breakdown" 
  • "Country Song" 
  • "Tonight" 
  • "Word as Weapons" 


  • Disclaimer (2002)
  • Disclaimer ll (2004) 
  • Karma and Effect (2005) 
  • Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces (2007) 
  • Holding Onto Strings Better Left to Fray (2011) 
  • Isolate and Medicate (2014) 

Seether Trivia

  • Seether named themselves after the alternative rock band Veruca Salt's 1994 hit "Seether."
  • Singer/guitarist Shaun Morgan's full name is Shaun Morgan Welgemoed.
  • Shaun Morgan was inspired to become a musician by Nirvana's album Nevermind.
  • Seether has frequently covered Nirvana songs live including: "Heart-Shaped Box," "You Know You're Right," "Polly," "Lithium," "Rape Me," "Drain You," "Something in the Way," "Breed," and "In Bloom."