Careers Business Ownership Security Deposit Limits by State The Maximum Security Deposit a Landlord Can Charge in Each State Share PINTEREST Email Print Check your state for your security deposit limits. John Lund/Getty Images Business Ownership Industries Landlords Retail Small Business Restauranting Real Estate Nonprofit Organizations Import/Export Business Freelancing & Consulting Franchises Food & Beverage Event Planning eBay E-commerce Construction Operations & Success Becoming an Owner By Erin Eberlin Erin Eberlin Erin Eberlin is a real estate and landlord expert, covering rental management, tenant acquisition, and property investment. She has more than 16 years of experience in real estate. Learn about our Editorial Process Updated on 07/30/19 The following is a list of security deposit limits by state. While every measure has been taken to provide accurate information, laws change frequently, so make sure to check with your state, county, and city to confirm the laws that may be applicable to you. A Alabama- One month’s rent. The landlord may be able to charge a higher security deposit to cover a pet deposit, changes to a property or increased liability risks. See Also: Alabama Security Deposit Law Alaska- Two months’ rent. There is no limit if the monthly rent exceeds $2000. See Also: Alaska Security Deposit Law Arizona- One and a half month’s rent. See Also: Arizona Security Deposit Law Arkansas- Two months’ rent. See Also: Arkansas Security Deposit Law C California- Two months’ rent if the unit is unfurnished. Three months’ rent if the unit is furnished.See Also: California Security Deposit Law Colorado- No Limit.See Also: Colorado Security Deposit Law Connecticut- Two months’ rent for tenants under 62. One month’s rent for tenants 62 years old and older. D Delaware- No limit on month to month rental agreements or for furnished units. One month’s rent for one year or longer leases. Can charge an additional pet deposit of up to one month’s rent. See Also: Delaware Security Deposit Law District of Columbia- One month’s rent. See Also:District of Columbia Security Deposit Law F Florida- No Limit. See Also: Florida Security Deposit Law G Georgia- No Limit. See Also: Georgia Security Deposit Law H Hawaii- One month’s rent. I Idaho- No Limit. Illinois- No Limit.See Also: Illinois Security Deposit Law Indiana- No Limit.See Also: Indiana Security Deposit Law Iowa- Two months’ rent. See Also: Iowa Security Deposit Law K Kansas- One month’s rent for unfurnished units. One and a half month’s rent for furnished units. Can charge an additional deposit for pets of up to one half month’s rent.Louisiana- No Limit. Maine- Two months’ rent. Maryland- Two months’ rent.See Also: Maryland Security Deposit Law Massachusetts- One month’s rent. May also collect last months’ rent in advance.See Also: Massachusetts Security Deposit Law Michigan- One and a half month’s rent.See Also: Michigan Security Deposit Law Minnesota- No Limit. Mississippi- No Limit. Missouri- Two months’ rent.See Also: Missouri Security Deposit Law Montana- No Limit. Nebraska- One month’s rent. Can charge an additional one quarter month’s rent for a pet deposit. Nevada- Three months’ rent.See Also: Nevada Security Deposit Law New Hampshire- One month’s rent or $100, whichever is greater. No limit for those who lease out single family residences or for owner-occupied properties with five or fewer units, unless one of those units is occupied by someone 60 years of age or older. New Jersey- One and a half month’s rent. The landlord can raise the security deposit, but cannot increase it by more than 10 percent each year.See Also: New Jersey Security Deposit Law New Mexico- No limit for leases of one year or more, but it must be a “reasonable deposit.” For rental agreements less than one year, the landlord can ask for one month’s rent as a security deposit. New York- No Limit. One month’s rent for rent stabilized units.See Also: New York Security Deposit Law North Carolina- Two weeks rent for week to week rental agreements. One and a half month’s rent for month to month rental agreements. Two month’s rent if rental agreement is two months’ or longer. Can also charge a reasonable, nonrefundable pet deposit.See Also: North Carolina Security Deposit Law North Dakota- One month’s rent. Can charge a pet deposit, but total amount of deposit, including the security deposit, cannot exceed $1500. Ohio- No Limit.See Also: Ohio Security Deposit Law Oklahoma- No Limit. Oregon- No Limit. Pennsylvania- Two months’ rent for first year. One month’s rent for second year and subsequent years. After five years of tenancy, a landlord cannot increase the security deposit.See Also: Pennsylvania Security Deposit Law Rhode Island- One month’s rent. South Carolina- No Limit. South Dakota- One month’s rent. The landlord may be able to charge a higher security deposit if certain circumstances pose a “danger to the maintenance of the premises.” Tennessee- No Limit.See Also: Tennessee Security Deposit Law Texas- No Limit.See Also: Texas Security Deposit Law Utah- No Limit. Vermont- No Limit. Virginia- Two months’ rent. Kentucky-No Limit. L M N O P R S T U V W Washington- No Limit. See Also: Washington Security Deposit Law West Virginia- No Limit. Wisconsin- No Limit. Wyoming- No Limit.