Scottish Open Golf Tournament on the European Tour

Ian Woosnam, 3-time Scottish Open winner, tees off in 2009
Ian Woosnam is the only 3-time winner of the Scottish Open. Phil Inglis/Getty Images

The Aberdeen Standard Investments Scottish Open debuted in 1972, but wasn't played from 1974-85. It returned in 1986 and has been part of the European Tour schedule since. It is played the week prior to the British Open. Barclays was been the title sponsor from 2002-11. In 2012, Aberdeen Asset Management took over as title sponsor; after the company changed names, the tournament did to, taking the company's new name of Aberdeen Standard Investments.

2020 Tournament

  • When: July 9-12
  • Where: The Renaissance Club in North Berwick, Scotland

2019 Scottish Open
Bernd Wiesberger fired a 61 in the second and Benjamin Hebert scored 62 in the final round. When 72 holes were over, they were tied at 22-under 262. So they played more holes. After matching pars on the first two playoff holes, Wiesberger finally won the tournament with a par to Hebert's bogey on the third extra hole.

2018 Tournament
Winner Brandon Stone of South Africa tied the tournament's 18-hole scoring the broke the tournament's 72-hole record. Stone fired a record-tying 60 in the final round to win with another record score of 260. That was four strokes ahead of runners-up Eddie Pepperell and Luke List.

Official Website
European Tour tournament site

Scottish Open Tournament Records

  • 18 holes: 60 - Paul Curry, 1992; Brandon Stone, 2018
  • 72 holes: 260 - Brandon Stone, 2018

Scottish Open Golf Courses

In 2011, the Scottish Open moved to Castle Stuart Golf Links in Inverness after spending the previous 15 years at Loch Lomond Golf Club in Luss, Argyll & Bute. While Loch Lomond was popular with players, many also believed the tournament should be played at a links-style course given that the Scottish Open always precedes the British Open by one week. So the move was made from the parkland-style Loch Lomond to the Castle Stuart links. In ensuing years, the event rotated among several links courses, such as, in 2014, Royal Aberdeen; in 2015, Gullane; and 2017, Dundonald Links.

Earlier in its history, the tourney was also played at Carnoustie, Gleneagles, Haggs Castle, The Old Course at St. Andrews and Downfield Golf Club.

Scottish Open Trivia and Notes

  • Ian Woosnam is the only 3-time winner of the Scottish Open, taking titles in 1987, 1990 and 1996.
  • Ernie Els is the only other golfer to win multiple titles here. Els was the victor in 2000 and 2003.
  • Carnoustie has a reputation for being a very tough golf course, and that reputation held up when the Scottish Open was played at Carnoustie in 1996. Woosnam won that year without shooting in the 60s in any of his four rounds, and with a final score of 1-over par.
  • At the other end of the scale was the 1992 Scottish Open at Gleneagles. That year, the tournament's 18-hole (60) and 72-hole (262) scoring records were both established. Winner Peter O'Malley shot 62 in the final round.
  • In 2018, Brandon Stone matched one of those marks, shooting 60 in the final round. And he broke O'Malley's 72-hole record by shooting 260 for the win.
  • In 2013, Phil Mickelson became the first golfer to win the Scottish Open and then win the British Open the following week.
  • Here's an oddity: The Scottish Open had two winners in 1996. In July, Woosnam won the Scottish Open at Carnoustie. In September, Thomas Bjorn won the Loch Lomond World Invitational at Loch Lomond. The Scottish Open was actually discontinued after 1996, while in 2001, the Loch Lomond World Invitational was renamed to "Scottish Open." At that point, the Euro Tour decided to fold the Loch Lomond tournament's history into the traditional Scottish Open history (essentially treating the two different tournaments as the same event). Since both were played in 1996, that resulted in two Scottish Open winners that year.

Winners of the Scottish Open Tournament

(p-won playoff; w-shortened by weather)

Aberdeen Standard Investments Scottish Open
2019 - Bernd Wiesberger-p, 262

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open
2018 - Brandon Stone, 260
2017 - Rafa Cabrera Bello-p, 275
2016 - Alex Noren, 274
2015 - Rickie Fowler, 268
2014 - Justin Rose, 268
2013 - Phil Mickelson-p, 271
2012 - Jeev Milkha Singh-p, 271

Barclays Scottish Open
2011 - Luke Donald-w, 197
2010 - Edoardo Molinari, 272
2009 - Martin Kaymer, 269
2008 - Graeme McDowell, 271
2007 - Gregory Havret-p, 270
2006 - Johan Edfors, 271
2005 - Tim Clark, 265
2004 - Thomas Levet, 269
2003 - Ernie Els, 267
2002 - Eduardo Romero-p, 273

The Scottish Open at Loch Lomond
2001 - Retief Goosen, 268

Standard Life Loch Lomond
2000 - Ernie Els, 273
1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
1998 - Lee Westwood, 276

Gulfstream Loch Lomond World Invitational
1997 - Tom Lehman, 265

Loch Lomond World Invitational
1996 - Thomas Bjorn, 277

Scottish Open
1996 - Ian Woosnam, 289
1995 - Wayne Riley, 276

Bell's Scottish Open
1994 - Carl Mason, 265
1993 - Jesper Parnevik, 271
1992 - Peter O'Malley, 262
1991 - Craig Parry, 268
1990 - Ian Woosnam, 269
1989 - Michael Allen, 272
1988 - Barry Lane, 271
1987 - Ian Woosnam, 264
1986 - David Feherty-p, 270

Sunbeam Electric Scottish Open
1973 - Graham Marsh, 286
1972 - Neil Coles, 283