Sanderson Farms Championship Tournament on the PGA Tour

Peter Malnati hoists the trophy following a victory at the Sanderson Farms Championship on November 9, 2015
2015 tournament winner Peter Malnati enjoys lifting the Sanderson Farms Championship trophy. Michael Cohen/Getty Images

The Sanderson Farms Championship is a PGA Tour golf tournament that is played in the state of Mississippi's capital city, typically in late October or early November. The tournament used to be an "opposite field" event played the same week as the British Open, but moved to the Fall part of the schedule beginning in 2014-15. However, it is still an opposite-field tournament, now played at the same time as the WGC HSBC Champions.

The tournament took its current name in 2013. When it first joined the PGA Tour, it was known as the Deposit Guaranty Classic. Other tournament names through the years are Southern Farm Bureau Classic, Viking Classic and True South Classic.

2018 Sanderson Farms Championships
Rookie Cameron Champ earned his first PGA Tour victory here. Champ opened with a 65 and added a 64 in the third round. He finished at 21-under 267, four strokes better than runner-up Corey Conners.

2017 Tournament
Four rounds of 68 or better propelled Ryan Armour to the five-stroke victory. Armour finished at 19-under 269. Chesson Hadley was the distant runner-up. It was the first career PGA Tour win for the 41-year-old.

2016 Sanderson Farms Championship
Cody Gribble birdied five of the final eight holes, including the last three, to win by four strokes. For Gribble, it was his first PGA Tour victory. Gribble opened the tournament with a 73, but followed that with a 63. He then shot 67-65 on the weekend to finish at 20-under 268. Greg Owen, Luke List and Chris Kirk tied for second place.

Scoring Records at the Sanderson Farms Championship

  • 72 holes: 263 - Dan Halldorson, 1986
  • 18 holes: 61 - Keith Clearwater, 1996

Sanderson Farms Championship Golf Courses

This tournament was been played at Annandale Golf Club in Madison, Mississippi from 1994 through 2013. But in 2014, the event moved to the state's capital, Jackson, and to the Country Club of Jackson. Prior to 1994, the tournament was played at Hattiesburg Country Club in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, going back to 1986, when the event became associated with the PGA Tour.

PGA Tour Sanderson Farms Championship Trivia and Notes

  • The tournament existed prior to 1986 (as the Magnolia State Classic), but was not part of the PGA Tour. In 1986, its named changed to Deposit Guaranty Classic, and it became a "satellite tournament" of the PGA Tour. That meant that players' earnings counted on the PGA Tour money list, but winners were not credited with an official PGA Tour win.
  • Beginning in 1994, the tournament became a full-fledged PGA Tour tournament, with wins counting as official.
  • Winners prior to 1986, before any affiliation with the PGA Tour, included Craig Stadler (1978), Roger Maltbie (1980) and Payne Stewart (1982).
  • Luke Donald's first win on the PGA Tour was at the 2002 Southern Farm Bureau Classic, which was shortened to 54 holes due to weather.
  • Four times in the event's history it has been shortened from 72 holes due to weather. That includes 1994, when Brian Henninger won in just 36 holes, the first year the tournament was a full PGA Tour event.
  • Henninger became the first 2-time champion in the tournament's PGA Tour years by winning again in 1999. That victory, also, was weather shortened (54 holes).

    Winners of the Sanderson Farms Championship

    (p-playoff; w-weather shortened)

    Sanderson Farms Championship
    2018 - Cameron Champ, 267
    2017 - Ryan Armour, 269
    2016 - Cody Gribble, 268
    2015 - Peter Malnati, 270
    2014 - Nick Taylor, 272
    2013 - Woody Austin-p, 268

    True South Classic
    2012 - Scott Stallings, 264

    Viking Classic
    2011 - Chris Kirk, 266
    2010 - Bill Haas, 273
    2009 - not played
    2008 - Will MacKenzie-p, 269
    2007 - Chad Campbell, 275

    Southern Farm Bureau Classic
    2006 - D.J. Trahan-p, 275
    2005 - Heath Slocum, 267
    2004 - Fred Funk, 266
    2003 - John Huston, 268
    2002 - Luke Donald-w, 201
    2001 - Cameron Beckman, 269
    2000 - Steve Lowery-p, 266
    1999 - Brian Henninger-w, 202

    Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic
    1998 - Fred Funk, 270
    1997 - Billy Ray Brown, 271
    1996 - Willie Wood, 268
    1995 - Ed Dougherty, 272
    1994 - Brian Henninger-w, 135
    (Note: Prior to 1994 winners were not credited with an official PGA Tour victory, although their earnings in this tournament did count on the tour's money list.)
    1993 - Greg Kraft, 267
    1992 - Richard Zokol, 267
    1991 - Larry Silveira-p, 266
    1990 - Gene Sauers, 268
    1989 - Jim Booros-w, 199
    1988 - Frank Conner, 267
    1987 - David Ogrin, 267
    1986 - Dan Halldorson, 263