RSM Classic Golf Tournament on the PGA Tour

Check out the winners and more tournament history

Kevin Kisner tees off on the 17th hole on the Seaside Course during the final round of The RSM Classic on November 22, 2015
Kevin Kisner tees off during his victory at the 2015 RSM Classic. Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

The RSM Classic (formerly known as the McGladrey Classic) is a golf tournament on the PGA Tour, played in Georgia late in the calendar year, usually November. From 2010-12, the tournament was part of the tour's season-ending "Fall Series." After the tour switched to a wraparound schedule, the RSM Classic became part of the tour's opening section of the schedule.

Davis Love III, a Sea Island member and St. Simons Island, Ga., resident, serves as host during tournament week. Tournament sponsor RSM is a tax and consulting firm. While the tournament changed names, it did not change title sponsors: McGladrey simply changes the company name to RSM.

2019 Tournament
Tyler Duncan earned his first PGA Tour win in a playoff against Webb Simpson. Duncan, who shot 65 in the final round, tied with Simpson (67) at 19-under 263. But Duncan won it on the first playoff hole with a birdie. Third-round leader Brendon Todd, attempting to win his third consecutive start, carded a final-round 72 and finished fourth.

2018 RSM Classic
Charles Howell III survived a near-record-tying surge by Patrick Rodgers to claim the victory in a playoff. Howell and Rodgers finished regulation tied at 19-under 263, and matched scores on the first extra hole. Howell won it with a birdie on the second playoff hole. Rodgers closed the tournament shooting 123 (61-62) over the final two rounds, tie for second-lowest back-to-back rounds in tour history.

2017 Tournament
Austin Cook shot 62 in the second round en route to a four-stroke victory. Cook finished at 21-under 261, one stroke shy of tying the tournament's 72-hole scoring record. The runner-up was J.J. Spaun. It was the first career win for the PGA Tour rookie.

PGA Tour RSM Classic Records

  • 18 holes: 60 - Tommy Gainey, 2012
  • 72 holes: 260 - Kevin Kisner, 2015

PGA Tour RSM Classic Courses

The tournament has always been played at Sea Island Golf Club, located on St. Simons Island, Georgia. The tournament originally took place on the club's Seaside Course, but beginning in 2015 play is split between the Seaside and Plantation courses. The community around the club is home to multiple PGA Tour players, including tournament host Love plus Zach Johnson.

PGA Tour RSM Classic Trivia and Notes

  • When Tommy Gainey shot 60 to win the 2012 tournament, he was the 25th golfer in PGA Tour history to shoot 60, and it was the 26th time that score had been posted in a PGA Tour event.
  • Gainey's 60 was only the fourth such score shot in the final round of a PGA Tour event.
  • The McGladrey Classic has the unusual distinction of having been played yearly since its debut in 2010, yet being skipped in the PGA Tour's 2013 season. That's because of the tour's switch to a wraparound schedule. Prior to 2013, the McGladrey was part of the tour's "Fall Series" and the end of the schedule. Beginning with the 2013-14 season, this tournament became part of the early section of the tour's schedule. That switch meant that the 2013 McGladrey was part of the 2013-14 schedule, and was absent from the 2013 PGA Tour season.
  • Tournament host Love's best finish to date in the event is a tie for fourth place in 2012.
  • The first playoff in tournament history happened in 2014, when Robert Streb earned his first-ever PGA Tour victory over Will MacKenzie and Brendon de Jonge.
  • In 2016, there was a 5-man playoff, one short of tying the PGA Tour record for biggest playoff field. Rookie Mackenzie Hughes won it on the third extra hole.
  • In 2018, Patrick Rodgers shot 61-62 in the final two rounds. That 123 total tied for second-lowest back-to-back rounds in tour history. Rodgers, however, lost in a playoff to winner Charles Howell III.

Winners of the RSM Classic

(p-won playoff)
2019 - Tyler Duncan-p, 263
2018 - Charles Howell III-p, 263
2017 - Austin Cook, 261
2016 - Mackenzie Hughes-p, 265
2015 - Kevin Kisner, 260

McGladrey Classic
2014 - Robert Streb-p, 266
2013 - Chris Kirk, 266
2012 - Tommy Gainey, 264
2011 - Ben Crane, 265
2010 - Heath Slocum, 266