Puerto Rico Open Golf Tournament on the PGA Tour

Past champions plus tournament facts and figures

Puerto Rico Open trophy and FedEx Cup trophy
The Puerto Rico Open trophy (left) is seen next to the FedEx Cup. Michael Cohen/Getty Images

The Puerto Rico Open is a 72-hole stroke-play tournament that is part of the PGA Tour. It is an opposite-field tournament, played the same week as the WGC Dell Match Play. When it debuted on the schedule in 2006, it became the first PGA Tour event played in Puerto Rico.

2020 Tournament

  • When: Feb. 20-23, 2020
  • Where: Coco Beach Golf & Country Club in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

2019 Puerto Rico Open

Martin Trainer's final-round 67 includes a birdie on the final hole, helping him earn his first career win on the PGA Tour. The tour rookie finished at 15-under 273, three strokes ahead of runners-up Daniel Berger, Roger Sloan, Johnson Wagner and Aaron Baddeley.

2018 Tournament
The tournament, originally scheduled for March 1-4 at Coco Beach Golf & Country Club in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico, will not be played due to the effects of Hurricane Maria. However, in March, on a date to be determined, the PGA Tour will stage an unofficial-money event, that will include PGA Tour golfers, as a fund-raiser. The Puerto Rico Open is expected to resume in 2019.

Official website

PGA Tour tournament site

PGA Tour Puerto Rico Open Records

  • 18 holes: 63 - Derek Lamely, 2010; Chris Tidland, 2011; James Driscoll, 2011; Scott Brown, 2013; James Driscoll, 2014
  • 72 holes: 267 - Chesson Hedley, 2014

PGA Tour Puerto Rico Open Golf Course

The tournament is played at Coco Beach Golf Club in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico, just outside the island's capital of San Juan. The course was designed by Tom Kite and for the tournament it plays just over 7,500 yards with a par of 72. It has hosted the Puerto Rico Open every year the tournament has been played. (The course was formerly known as Trump International Golf Club Puerto Rico through a licensing agreement, but reverted to the Coco Beach name - its original name - in 2015.) 

PGA Tour Puerto Rico Open Trivia and Notes

  • Four of the first seven winners of this event were first-time PGA Tour winners: Greg Kraft, Derek Lamely, Scott Brown and Chesson Hadley. Hadley went on to win the Rookie of the Year Award in 2014.
  • Jason Gore made seven consecutive birdies during the third round of the 2013 Puerto Rico Open, tied for longest such streak on the PGA Tour during the 2013-14 season.
  • James Driscoll matched the tournament's 18-hole scoring record (63) in two different years, but didn't win either time.
  • From 1957-67, another tournament called the Puerto Rico Open was played. It was not an official PGA Tour tournament, but did attract many PGA Tour players. The winners, starting with 1957 and going forward, were Chick Harbert, Bob Toski, Pete Cooper, Joe Jimenez, Billy Maxwell, George Knudson, Charlie Sifford, Art Wall, Howell Fraser, Ramon Sota and Chuck Courtney.

Winners of the Puerto Rico Open

(p-won playoff)
2020 - Viktor Hovland, 268
2019 - Martin Trainer, 273
2018 - no tournament
2017 - D.A. Points, 268
2016 - Tony Finau-p, 276
2015 - Alex Cejka-p, 281
2014 - Chesson Hadley, 267
2013 - Scott Brown, 268
2012 - George McNeill, 272
2011 - Michael Bradley-p, 272
2010 - Derek Lamely, 269
2009 - Michael Bradley, 274
2008 - Greg Kraft, 274