Past Preakness Winners 1970—Present

Connections, Winning Times, and Winning Margins

Horse race towards viewer
Bob Thomas

The Preakness Stakes is the second jewel of the so-called Triple Crown of horse racing, and it is held two weeks after the Kentucky Derby every year on the third Saturday in May. It's run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland, where it began in 1873. The Preakness is the shortest of the three Triple Crown horse races in terms of distance, and is two years older than the venerable Kentucky Derby.

Former Maryland governor Oden Bowie named the Preakness race in honor of a colt from Milton Holbrook Sanford's Preakness Stables in Preakness, Wayne Township, New Jersey. That horse won one of the races on Pimlico Race Track's opening day in 1870.

As long as the horse that won the Kentucky Derby is running in the Preakness, the chance of a Triple Crown winner is still alive when the race is run, which heightens the excitement and anticipation. Only 12 horses in history have succeeded in winning all three races of the Triple Crown; the most recent was American Pharoah in 2015. 

Like the Kentucky Derby and the Belmont Stakes, only 3-year-old thoroughbreds can run in the Preakness, so each only has one chance at it in his or her lifetime. The winning trophy for the Preakness is the Woodlawn Vase, a silver Tiffany vase with an interesting history of its own. 

The original Woodlawn Vase is housed at the Baltimore Museum of Art in Maryland and brought to Pimlico every year before the race (the winner gets to keep a replica, not the actual vase).

Maryland goes all out for the pomp and circumstance; the vase is brought to the track by National Guardsmen, white gloves and all. 

Here is a list of all the Preakness winners since 1970 with their connections, winning time and winning margins.






2016ExaggeratorK. DesormeauxJ. DesormeauxBig Chief Racing1:58.31 
2015American PharoahV. EspinozaB. BaffertZayat Stable1:58.467
2014California ChromeV. EspinozaA. ShermanS. Coburn and P. Martin1:54.841 1/2
2013OxbowG, StevensD. Wayne LukasCalumet Farm1:55.941 3/4
2012I'll Have AnotherM.GutierrezD. O'NeillReddam Racing LLC1:55.94neck
2011ShacklefordJ. CastanonD. RomansM. Lauffer and W. Cubbedge1:56.471/2
2010Lookin at LuckyM. GarciaB. BaffertK. Watson, M. Pegram, and P. Weitman1:55.473/4
2009Rachel AlexandraC. BorelS. AsmussenStonestreet Stable1:55.081
2008Big BrownK. DesormeauxR. Dutrow Jr.IEAH Stables and Paul Pompa Jr. et al1:54.805 1/4
2007CurlinR. AlbaradoS. AsmussenStonestreet, Padua, Bolton, and Midnight Cry Stables1:53.46head
2006BernardiniJ. CastellanoT. AlbertraniDarley Stable1:54.655 1/4
2005Afleet AlexJ. RoseT. RitcheyCash is King Stable1:55.044 1/2
2004Smarty JonesS. ElliottJ. ServisRoy Chapman1:55.5911 1/2
2003Funny CideJ. SantosB. TaggSackatoga Stable1:55.619 3/4
2002War EmblemV. EspinozaB. BaffertThoroughbred Corp.1:56.363/4
2001Point GivenG. StevensB. BaffertThoroughbred Corp.1:55.512 1/4
2000Red BulletJ. BaileyJ. OrsenoStronach Stable1:56.043 3/4
1999CharismaticC. AntleyD.W. LukasB. & B. Lewis1:55.321 1/2
1998Real QuietK. DesormeauxB. BaffertM. Pegram1:54.752 1/4
1997Silver CharmG. StevensB. BaffertB. & B. Lewis1:54.84hd
1996Louis QuatorzeP. DayN. ZitoCondren, Cornacchia, & Hofmann1:53.433 1/4
1995Timber CountryP. DayD.W. LukasOverbrook Farms & Gainesway Stable1:54.451/2
1994Tabasco CatP. DayD.W. LukasOverbrook Farms & D.P. Reynolds1:56.473/4
1993Prairie BayouM.E. SmithT. BohannanLoblolly Stable1:56.611/2
1992Pine BluffC.J. McCarronT. BohannanLoblolly Stable1:55.603/4
1991HanselJ.D. BaileyF. BrothersLazy Lane Farms1:547
1990Summer SquallP. DayN. HowardDogwood Stable1:53 3/52 1/4
1989Sunday SilenceP.A. ValenzuelaC. WhittinghamGaillard, Hancock, & Whittingham1:53 4/5no
1988Risen StarE. DelahoussayeL. Roussel IIIRoussel & Lamark Stable1:56 1/51 1/4
1987AlyshebaC.J. McCarronJ. Van BergScharbauer1:55 4/51/2
1986Snow ChiefA. SolisM. StuteGrinstead & Rochelle1:54 4/54
1985Tank's ProspectP. DayD.W. LukasMr. & Mrs. E.V. Klein1:53 2/5hd
1984Gate DancerA. Cordero Jr.J. Van BergK. Opstein1:53 3/51 1/2
1983Deputed TestamonyD.A. Miller Jr.W. BonifaceF.P. Sears1:55 2/52 3/4
1982Aloma's RulerJ.L. KaenelJ. Lenzini Jr.N. Scherr1:55 2/51/2
1981Pleasant ColonyJ. VelasquezJ. CampoBuckland Farm1:54 3/51
1980CodexA. CorderoD.W. LukasTartan Stable1:54 1/54 3/4
1979Spectacular BidR.J. FranklinG. DelpHawksworth Farm1:54 1/55 1/2
1978AffirmedS. CauthenL. BarreraHarborview Farm1:54 2/5nk
1977Seattle SlewJ. CruguetW. TurnerK.L. Taylor1:54 2/51 1/2
1976ElocutionistJ. LivelyP.T. AdwellE.C. Cashman1:553 1/2
1975Master DerbyD.G. McHargueW.E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm1:56 2/51
1974Little CurrentM.A. RiveraT.L. RondinelloDarby Dan Farm1:54 3/57
1973SecretariatR. TurcotteL. LaurinMeadow Stable1:54 2/52 1/2
1972Bee Bee BeeE. NelsonD.W. CarrollW.S. Farish1:55 3/51 1/2
1971Canonero IIA. AvilaJ. AriasE. Caibett1:541 1/2
1970PersonalityE. BelmonteJ.W. JacobsE.D. Jacobs1:56 1/5nk