PGA Tour: The Tour Championship

Jordan Spieth hits his tee shot on the first hole during the third round of the TOUR Championship at East Lake Golf Club on September 24, 2016
Jordan Spieth, the 2015 Tour Championship winner. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The Tour Championship is a limited-field event that has long been considered the finale to the big-money part of the PGA Tour schedule. Beginning in 2007, the Tour Championship also serves as the culmination of the FedEx Cup chase, the tournament at which the FedEx Cup champion is crowned. The Tour Championship field is limited to the Top 30 golfers on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.

2020 Tournament

  • When: Aug. 27-30, 2020
  • Where: East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga.

2019 Tour Championship
Rory McIlroy fired a 4-under 66 in the final round to finish at 18-under and win the tournament and FedEx Cup title. The runner-up, four strokes behind, was Xander Schauffele. Justin Thomas, who entered the tournament leading the FedEx Cup standings, tied for third place with Brooks Koepka.

2018 Tournament
Tiger Woods won the tournament, Justin Rose won the FedEx Cup championship at the season-ending event. It was Woods' 80th career win, but his first since 2013. He led by as many as six about midway through the final round, but Billy Horshel closed stroke to post 9-under, the Woods make a couple birdies coming in. But he got up-and-down from a bunker on the last hole to finish at 269 and win by two. The points title, however, went to Rose on the strength of his tie for fourth place.

PGA Tour tournament site

The Tour Championship Records:

  • Overall: 257 - Tiger Woods, 2007
  • Tournament 18-Hole record: 60 - Zach Johnson, 2007

The Tour Championship Golf Courses:

The first Tour Championship was played at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio, Texas. The tournament rotated in ensuing years among several high-profile venues including Pebble Beach, Harbour Town, Pinehurst No. 2, Olympic Club, Southern Hills, and Champions in Houston.

Beginning in 2004, East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga., has been the permanent home of this tournament.

The Tour Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The Tour Championship was first played in 1987, and Tom Watson was the first champion.
  • When Chad Campbell won the Tour Championship in 2003, it was his first career victory on the PGA Tour.
  • Only two golfers have posted multiple victories in The Tour Championship - Tiger Woods (three wins) and Phil Mickelson (two wins).
  • From 1987 through 2006, the field was comprised of the Top 30 players on the money list. Beginning in 2007, the field is made up of the Top 30 players on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.
  • Scoring was low in 2007. Tiger Woods' winning 257 bettered the previous 72-hole tournament scoring record by six strokes. And Zach Johnson set an 18-hole record that same year with a round of 60.
  • Johnson posted that 60 in the third round. And when he did, he became the 20th golfer to post a 60 in an official PGA Tour tournament. (Johnson later became the first person to do it twice).
  • When Woods won his third title in 2018, it ended a five-year winless period for him and was his 80th career PGA Tour victory.

The Tour Championship Winners:


The Tour Championship
2019 - Rory McIlroy, -18
2018 - Tiger Woods, 269
2017 - Xander Schauffele, 268
2016 - Rory McIlroy-p, 268
2015 - Jordan Spieth, 271
2014 - Billy Horschel, 269
2013 - Henrik Stenson, 267
2012 - Brandt Snedeker, 270
2011 - Bill Haas-p, 272
2010 - Jim Furyk, 272
2009 - Phil Mickelson, 271
2008 - Camilo Villegas, 273
2007 - Tiger Woods, 257
2006 - Adam Scott, 269
2005 - Bart Bryant, 263
2004 - Retief Goosen, 269
2003 - Chad Campbell, 268
2002 - Vijay Singh, 268
2001 - Mike Weir-p, 270
2000 - Phil Mickelson, 267
1999 - Tiger Woods, 269
1998 - Hal Sutton-p, 274
1997 - David Duval, 273
1996 - Tom Lehman, 268
1995 - Billy Mayfair, 280
1994 - Mark McCumber-p, 274
1993 - Jim Gallagher Jr., 277
1992 - Paul Azinger, 276
1991 - Craig Stadler-p, 279

Nabisco Championships
1989 - Tom Kite-p, 276

Nabisco Golf Championships
1988 - Curtis Strange-p, 279

Nabisco Championships of Golf
1987 - Tom Watson, 268