PGA Tour Shriners Hospitals for Children Open

Tournament facts and figures, plus trivia and past champions

Webb Simpson won the 2013 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
Webb Simpson won the 2013 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, and tied the tournament scoring record. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The PGA Tour's Las Vegas stop has been played under various names since 1983. From 2008 through 2012, entertainer Justin Timberlake was the tournament "host," with his name in the event title. That relationship ended following the 2012 tournament, however.

The Las Vegas event was always, prior to 2008, played over multiple golf courses within the same event. Beginning in 2008, TPC Summerlin became the sole place of play.

This event is most famous as the site of Tiger Woods' first PGA Tour victory.

2019 Tournament
Kevin Na won the sudden death playoff on the second hole to claim his second victory in this tournament. He also won in 2011. Na and Patrick Cantlay — who won this tournament in a playoff in 2017 — finished 72 holes tied at 261. They matched birdies on the first extra hole, then Na won it with a par on the second playoff hole.

2018 Tournament
Bryson DeChambeau carded three rounds of 66 and one of 65 in his victory. He finished at 21-under 263, one stroke ahead of runner-up Patrick Cantlay. It was DeChambeau's fourth win in 2018, his first on the 2018-19 PGA Tour schedule.

2017 Shriners Open
Patrick Cantlay won a 3-way playoff for the trophy. Cantlay finished at 9-under 275, tied with Alex Cejka and Whee Kim. All three golfers bogeyed the first playoff hole, but Cantlay won it on the second extra hole with a par.

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open Records:

  • 72 holes: 260, Ryan Moore, 2012; Webb Simpson, 2013
  • 90 holes: 328, Stuart Appleby, Scott McCarron, 2003
  • 18 holes: 59 - Chip Beck, 1991 at Sunrise Country Club. Current course (TPC Summerlin) record is 60 by J.J. Henry in 2013 and Rod Pampling in 2016

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open Golf Courses:

Beginning in 2008, TPC Summerlin is the sole host of the tournament. And TPC Summerlin is the course most associated with this event. But throughout its history, until 2008, the tournament was always played at multiple courses, players rotating from round to round. In addition to TPC Summerlin, the other Las Vegas golf courses to host this tournament are:

  • Desert Inn Country Club
  • Spanish Trail Golf & Country Club
  • Sunrise Golf Club
  • Las Vegas Country Club
  • Las Vegas Hilton Country Club
  • Southern Highlands Golf Club
  • Bear's Best Golf Club
  • TPC Las Vegas

Tournament Trivia and Notes:

  • As stated in the intro, this tournament is most famous as the site of Tiger Woods' first PGA Tour victory. It happened in 1996, when the tournament was known as the Las Vegas Invitational. Woods shot 64 in the final round to tie Davis Love III, then won the trophy with a par on the first playoff hole.
  • And its second-most famous moment occured in 1991, when Chip Beck became the second golfer in PGA Tour history to shoot 59. It happened in the third round. Beck didn't win, however, finishing two strokes out of a playoff.
  • That final-round 64 shot by Woods in 1996 happened in the fifth round. This event, for much of its history, was five rounds in duration. It 2004, it was reduced to the more traditional four rounds.
  • A year before Tiger's first win, Jim Furyk's first career PGA Tour win happened here in the 1995 Las Vegas Invitational.
  • Furyk has won twice more, giving him three career titles in Las Vegas and making him the only multiple winner of the championship.
  • The event was first played in 1983 (as five rounds) and was won by Fuzzy Zoeller.
  • Several players share the PGA Tour record of eight consecutive birdies. Jerry Kelly is one of them, and he accomplished the feat in this tournament in 2003, in the third round.
  • The last of Bruce Lietzke's 13 PGA Tour wins came in the 1994 Las Vegas Invitational.
  • Jonathan Byrd's win in 2010 came with one swing: He aced the fourth playoff hole.
  • At the 2012 tourney, John Daly followed his second-round 63 with an 86 in the third round - a difference of 23 strokes. That is believed to be one of the largest gaps between consecutive rounds in PGA Tour history.

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open - Past Champions:

w-weather shortened; p-playoff

Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
2019 - Kevin Na-p, 261
2018 - Bryson DeChambeau, 263
2017 - Patrick Cantlay-p, 275
2016 - Rod Pampling, 264
2015 - Smylie Kaufman, 268
2014 - Ben Martin, 264
2013 - Webb Simpson, 260

Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
2012 - Ryan Moore, 260
2011 - Kevin Na, 261
2010 - Jonathan Byrd-p, 263
2009 - Martin Laird-p, 265
2008 - Marc Turnesa, 263 Open
2007 - George McNeill, 264
2006 - Troy Matteson, 265

Michelin Championship at Las Vegas
2005 - Wes Short Jr.-p, 266
2004 - Andre Stolz, 266

Invensys Classic at Las Vegas
2003 - Stuart Appleby-p, 328
2002 - Phil Tataurangi, 330
2001 - Bob Estes, 329
2000 - Billy Andrade, 332

Las Vegas Invitational
1999 - Jim Furyk, 331
1998 - Jim Furyk, 335
1997 - Bill Glasson, 340
1996 - Tiger Woods-p, 332
1995 - Jim Furyk, 331
1994 - Bruce Lietzke, 332
1993 - Davis Love III, 331
1992 - John Cook, 334
1991 - Andrew Magee-p, 329
1990 - Bob Tway-p, 334
1989 - Scott Hoch-p, 336

Panasonic Las Vegas Invitational
1988 - Gary Koch-w, 274
1987 - Paul Azinger-w, 271
1986 - Greg Norman, 333
1985 - Curtis Strange, 338
1984 - Denis Watson, 341

Panasonic Las Vegas Pro-Celebrity Classsic
1983 - Fuzzy Zoeller, 340