PGA Tour John Deere Classic

Ryan Moore during the final round of his win at the 2016 John Deere Classic.
2016 champ Ryan Moore tees off at the John Deere Classic. Michael Cohen/Getty Images

The John Deere Classic debuted on the PGA Tour in 1972 as the Quad Cities Open. "Quad Cities" is the term applied to a group of cities in Iowa and Illinois adjacent to the Mississippi River. Those cities are Davenport and Bettendorf in Iowa, and Moline, East Moline and Rock Island in Illinois (yes, five cities make up the "quad"). Bettendorf was the first host city for this tournament. The event is now played in Silvis, Ill., which abuts East Moline.

2020 Tournament

  • When: July 9-12
  • Where: TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois

2019 John Deere Classic
Dylan Frittelli carded scores of 65 and 64 in the third and fourth rounds, respectively, and won by two strokes. Frittelli finished at 21-under 263. Runner-up Russell Henley scored a 61 in the final round. It was the first career win on the PGA Tour for Frittelli.

2018 Tournament
Michael Kim won for the first time on the PGA Tour and did it by setting a new tournament scoring record. Kim finished at 27-under 257, best score in the event's history. He won by eight strokes over the runner-up, Francisco Molinari.

Official Web site
PGA Tour tournament site

PGA Tour John Deere Classic Records:

  • 72-hole tournament record: 257 - Michael Kim, 2018
  • 18-hole tournament record: 59 - Paul Goydos, TPC Deere Run, 2010

PGA Tour John Deere Classic Golf Courses:

The John Deere Classic is currently played at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. The tournament moved to TPC Deere Run in 2000, which is the year it opened as a PGA Tour-owned golf course.

The TPC track is the third course to serve as host for this tournament in its history. The other two, with the years they hosted the tournament, are:

  • Crow Valley Country Club, Bettendorf, Iowa, 1972-74
  • Oakwood Country Club, Coal Valley, Ill., 1975-99

PGA Tour John Deere Classic Trivia and Notes:

  • The current site of the tournament, TPC Deere Run, was designed by golf course architect and former PGA Tour player D.A. Weibring. That's appropriate, because Weibring was a 3-time winner of the John Deere Classic.
  • Steve Stricker is also a 3-time winner here, but Stricker's wins were in consecutive years: 2009, 2010 and 2011.
  • Prior to Stricker's three straight wins, David Frost (1992-93) was the only other back-to-back winner. In his 1993 victory, Frost set the tournament 72-hole record of 259. In his 2010 win, Stricker lowered that record to 258.
  • Weibring also holds the tournament record for most cuts made, with 18.
  • When Payne Stewart won in 1982, it marked his first PGA Tour victory.
  • Tiger Woods' first PGA Tour win very nearly came at the John Deere Classic, too. But Woods was outdueled in the final round of the 1996 Quad City Classic, as it was then called, by 43-year-old journeyman Ed Fiori.
  • In the first round of the 2010 tournament, Paul Goydos carded a round of 59 - just the fourth 59 ever shot in PGA Tour play.
  • Sam Snead set a couple PGA Tour records at the 1979 tournament. Then 67 years old, Snead became the oldest golfer to make a cut in a PGA Tour event (a record he later bettered). In the second round he matched his age with a 67. In the final round, he bettered it with a 66. This is the only time a golfer has shot his age or better on the PGA Tour.
  • At the 1981 Quad Cities Open, Dave Barr won a playoff over Woody Blackburn, Frank Conner, Dan Halldorson and Victor Regalado. What's significant about this? The playoff lasted eight holes, the second-longest playoff in tour history.
  • Fuzzy Zoeller is one of several golfers to share the PGA Tour record for consecutive birdies - 8 in a row. Zoeller tied the mark at this tournament in the first round in 1976. He wound up finishing second that year.
  • Michelle Wie made a scene in the John Deere Classic twice, once good, once bad. In 2005, she shot 70-71, 1-under, coming within a stroke of making the cut. In 2006, she opened with a 77, then withdrew midway through the second round, citing heat exhaustion, and was taken from the course in an ambulance.
  • When Jordan Spieth posted his first career PGA Tour win at the 2013 Deere, he was two weeks shy of his 20th birthday. Spieth became just the fourth teenager to win a PGA Tour tournament.
  • At the 2017 Deere, Bryson DeChambeau became the first-known golfer to win a PGA Tour tournament using a set of single-length irons.

PGA Tour John Deere Classic Winners:

w-weather shortened; p-playoff

John Deere Classic
2019 - Dylan Frittelli, 263
2018 - Michael Kim, 257
2017 - Bryson DeChambeau, 266
2016 - Ryan Moore, 262
2015 - Jordan Spieth-p, 264
2014 - Brian Harman, 262
2013 - Jordan Spieth, 265
2012 - Zach Johnson, 264
2011 - Steve Stricker, 262
2010 - Steve Stricker, 258
2009 - Steve Stricker, 264
2008 - Kenny Perry-p, 268
2007 - Jonathan Byrd, 266
2006 - John Senden, 265
2005 - Sean O'Hair, 268
2004 - Mark Hensby-p, 268
2003 - Vijay Singh, 268
2002 - J.P. Hayes, 262
2001 - David Gossett, 265
2000 - Michael Clark II-p, 265
1999 - J.L. Lewis-p, 261

Quad City Classic
1998 - Steve Jones, 263
1997 - David Toms, 265
1996 - Ed Fiori, 268
1995 - D.A. Weibring-w, 197

Hardee's Golf Classic
1994 - Mark McCumber, 265
1993 - David Frost, 259
1992 - David Frost, 266
1991 - D.A. Weibring, 267
1990 - Joey Sindelar-p, 268
1989 - Curt Byrum, 268
1988 - Blaine McCallister, 261
1987 - Kenny Knox, 265
1986 - Mark Wiebe, 268

Lite Quad Cities Open
1985 - Dan Forsman, 267

Miller High-Life Quad Cities Open
1984 - Scott Hoch, 266
1983 - Danny Edwards-p, 266
1982 - Payne Stewart, 268

Quad Cities Open
1981 - Dave Barr-p, 270
1980 - Scott Hoch, 266

Ed McMahon-Jaycees Quad City Open
1979 - D.A. Weibring, 266
1978 - Victor Regalado, 269
1977 - Mike Morley, 267
1976 - John Lister, 268
1975 - Roger Maltbie, 275

Quad Cities Open
1974 - Dave Stockton, 271
1973 - Sam Adams, 268
1972 - Deane Beman, 279