PGA Tour CIMB Classic

Ryan Moore at the 2014 PGA Tour CIMB Classic
Ryan Moore was the first back-to-back champion and first 2-time winner in CIMB Classic history. Stanley Chou/Getty Images

The CIMB Classic is played in Malaysia and is co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour and Asian Tour. In its first three years, it was an "official" event on the Asian Tour, but not on the PGA Tour. However, the PGA Tour elevated it to official status beginning with its 2013-14 season.

The tournament is played in the fall, formerly during the PGA Tour's "Fall Series" portion of the schedule but, beginning with the tour's conversion to a wraparound schedule for the 2013-14 season, is now among the opening part of the PGA Tour schedule.

This tournament is a "short field" event with only 78 players in the field. The title sponsor, CIMB Group, is headquartered in Kuala Lumpur and is a major Asian and Southeast Asian banking group.

2018 CIMB Classic
Marc Leishman shot 62 in the second round and 65 in the fourth round and cruised to victory. Leishman finished at 26-under 262, five strokes in front of runners-up Emiliano Grillo, Chesson Hadley and Bronson Burgoon. It was Leishman's fourth career win on the PGA Tour.

2017 CIMB Classic
Pat Perez began the tournament with rounds of 66-65-64 and finished it with a four-stroke victory. He shot 69 in the final round, finishing at 24-under 264. Keegan Bradley was runner-up. It was Perez's third career win on the PGA Tour.

2016 Tournament
Justin Thomas won his second career PGA Tour title at the 2016 CIMB ... one year after winning his first PGA Tour title at this very same tournament. This time, Thomas shot 64 in the final round to finish at 23-under 265, three strokes better than runner-up Hideki Matsuyama.

CIMB Classic Records

  • 18 holes: 61 - Nick Watney, 2012; Justin Thomas, 2015
  • 72 holes: 261 - Bo Van Pelt, 2011

CIMB Classic Golf Courses

For 2013, the tournament moved to a new course, Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club, after spending the first three years of its history at The Mines Resort and Golf Club (also in Kuala Lumpur). KLG&CC opened in 1991.

CIMB Classic Trivia and Notes

  • When the PGA Tour changed the status of the tournament for 2013, giving it a full allotment of FedEx Cup points to award and making it a full-fledged, "official" tour event, the CIMB Classic became the first official PGA Tour FedExCup event in Asia.
  • When it was first played in 2010, the tournament had a field of only 40. In 2011, that rose to 48. In 2013, the field was increased to 78.
  • The 78 players in the field are comprised of 60 PGA Tour golfers, 10 golfers from the Asian Tour and eight sponsor exemptions (two of whom must be Malaysian).
  • At the 2013 CIMB Classic, Ryan Moore won the first playoff in tournament history. In 2014, Moore became the first back-to-back winner and the first 2-time winner.

Winners of the CIMB Classic

(p-won playoff)

CIMB Classic
2018 - Marc Leishman, 262
2017 - Pat Perez, 264
2016 - Justin Thomas, 265
2015 - Justin Thomas, 262
2014 - Ryan Moore, 271
2013 - Ryan Moore-p, 274
2012 - Nick Watney, 262

CIMB Asia Pacific Classic Malaysia
2011 - Bo Van Pelt, 261
2010 - Ben Crane, 266