PGA Tour Barracuda Championship

Facts, figures, trivia and all the winners of the golf tournament

Vaughn Taylor at the Reno-Tahoe Open
So far, Vaughn Taylor is the only 2-time winner of the PGA Tour's Barracuda Championship. S. Badz/Getty Images

The Barracuda Championship has been part of the PGA Tour schedule since 1999. For much of that history it was known as the Reno-Tahoe Open, but Barracuda Networks Inc. became the title sponsor beginning in 2014. This tournament is currently an "opposite field" event - one that is played the same week as another tour event. In the Barracuda Championship's case, that means this event is played the same week as the WGC Bridgestone Invitational.

The Barracuda Championship is the only tournament on the PGA Tour schedule to use the Modified Stableford format. It switched to that format beginning with the 2012 tournament. At the Barracuda Championship, Stableford points are awarded or subtracted as follows:

  • Double eagle: 8 points
  • Eagle: 5 points
  • Birdie: 2 points
  • Par: 0 points
  • Bogey: minus-1 points
  • Double bogey or worse: minus-3 points

2020 Tournament

  • When: July 2-5, 2020
  • Where: Montreux Golf & Country Club in Reno, Nevada

2019 Barracuda
Collin Morikawa birdied the final three holes and four of the last five to surge to the victory. It was the first career win on the PGA Tour for the rookie pro in just his sixth start since turning pro. He finished with 47 points, three better than runner-up Troy Merritt.

2018 Tournament
Andrew Putnam earned his first PGA Tour win, finishing it off with a birdie on the final hole. In the Stableford tournament, Putnam scored 47 points, four better than runner-up Chad Campbell.

Official web site
PGA Tour tournament site

Barracuda Championship Records:

  • 72 holes: 267 - Vaughn Taylor, 2005
  • 18 holes: 61 - Scott Piercy, 2011

Barracuda Championship Golf Courses:

This tournament has been on played on the same golf course since its inception: Montreux Golf & Country Club in Reno.

Barracuda Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Notah Begay III was the winner of the first Reno-Tahoe Open played, in 1999, and that was also Begay's first PGA Tour win.
  • This event has a knack for producing first-time winners. Scott Piercy (2011), Matt Bettancourt (2010), Parker McLachlin (2008), Will Mackenzie (2006), Vaughn Taylor (2004) and Chris Riley (2002) also achieved their first PGA Tour wins here. In 2017, Chris Stroud joined the list.
  • Meanwhile, the last of John Cook's 11 PGA Tour victories happened at the 2001 Reno-Tahoe Open.
  • Taylor was the only 2-time winner of the Reno-Tahoe Open - and he won in back-to-back years - until J.J. Henry won a second time in 2015. Henry's two wins both came in the Stableford era.
  • A year after his meltdown at the 1999 British Open, Jean Van de Valde finished second in the 2000 Reno-Tahoe Open. That is Van de Velde's best finish in a "regular" USPGA Tour event.
  • A year before his victory in 2009, John Rollins tied for second at the 2008 tournament.
  • Michelle Wie missed the cut in the 2008 tournament. That was the last of 13 times Wie played in a tournament on a traditionally men's tour.
  • When the Reno-Tahoe Open switched to Modified Stableford scoring beginning with the 2012 tournament, it became the second event to use that scoring format on the PGA Tour. The International, a tournament that existed from 1986-2006, was the first.

PGA Tour Barracuda Championship Winners

2019 - Collin Morikawa, 47 points
2018 - Andrew Putnam, 47 points

Reno-Tahoe Open
2017 - Chris Stroud-p, 44 points
2016 - Greg Chalmers, 42 points
2015 - J.J. Henry-p, 47 points
2014 - Geoff Ogilvy, 49 points
2013 - Gary Woodland, 44 points
2012 - J.J. Henry, 43 points
2011 - Scott Piercy, 273
2010 - Matt Bettencourt, 277

Legends Reno-Tahoe Open
2009 - John Rollins, 271
2008 - Parker McLachlin, 270

Reno-Tahoe Open
2007 - Steve Flesch, 273
2006 - Will MacKenzie, 268
2005 - Vaughn Taylor, 267
2004 - Vaughn Taylor-p, 278
2003 - Kirk Triplett, 271
2002 - Chris Riley-p, 271
2001 - John Cook, 271
2000 - Scott Verplank-p, 275
1999 - Notah Begay III, 277