Payne Stewart Award: Winners and Trophy Criteria

The PGA Tour presents the award annually

The trophy presented to winners of the Payne Stewart Award
The trophy presented to winners of the Payne Stewart Award. Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The Payne Stewart Award is an annual award presented by the PGA Tour to a PGA Tour member (which doesn't necessarily mean a golfer currently active as a player on the PGA Tour) in honor of that golfer's dedication to good works and the traditions of golf.

Or, to quote the PGA Tour's explanation, the Payne Stewart Award goes to:

"(A) player sharing Stewart's respect for the traditions of the game, his commitment to uphold the game's heritage of charitable support and the professional and meticulous presentation of himself and the sport through his dress and conduct."

Payne Stewart was an 11-time winner on the PGA Tour, including three major championships, who died in an airplane crash in 1999. The award was instituted by the tour beginning in 2000 and the first recipient was actually three winners-in-one: Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer.

The trophy itself is a sculpture of Stewart on top of a wooden base. And in addition to the trophy, money is donated to a charity of the recipient's choice as well as to charities associated with Stewart and the Stewart family. A total of $300,000 is given by the PGA Tour to those charities.

Winners of the Payne Stewart Award

2019 - Hale Irwin
2018 - Bernhard Langer
2017 - Stewart Cink
2016 - Jim Furyk
2015 - Ernie Els
2014 - Nick Faldo
2013 - Peter Jacobsen
2012 - Steve Stricker
2011 - David Toms
2010 - Tom Lehman
2009 - Kenny Perry
2008 - Davis Love III
2007 - Hal Sutton
2006 - Gary Player
2005 - Brad Faxon
2004 - Jay Haas
2003 - Tom Watson
2002 - Nick Price
2001 - Ben Crenshaw
2000 - Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer