Scandinavian Invitation Golf Tournament on the European Tour

Past champs, plus fun facts and figures for the tourney in Sweden

The pin flags are replaced with Swedish flags to mark Sweden's National Day on day three of the Nordea Masters at the PGA Sweden National on June 6, 2015
The Nordea Masters (formerly known as the Scandinavian Masters) is the only European Tour golf tournament in Sweden. Harry Engels/Getty Images

The Scandinavian Invitation (formerly named the Nordea Masters) is a golf tournament that is played annually in Sweden. The Scandinavian Invitation has been part of the European Tour schedule since its debut in 1991. Nordea, a financial services company, became title sponsor beginning in 2010 but ceased its sponsorship following the 2018 tournament.

2019 Scandinavian Invitation
Erik Van Rooyen birdied the 18th hole the first three rounds, and when did so again in the final round it gave him the one-stroke victory. Van Rooyen finished at 19-under 261, setting a new tournament record for fewest strokes. The runner-up was Matthew Fitzpatrick.

2018 Tournament
Paul Waring won a playoff on the first extra hole to take the trophy. Waring and Thomas Aiken were tied at 14-under 266 following completion of 72 holes. But on the first playoff hole, Aiken's bogey let Waring win it with a par.

2017 Nordea Masters
Twenty-year-old Italian Renato Paratore took the victory for his first career win on the European Tour. Paratore turned pro in 2014 and his only previous pro victory was at the 2014 Italian National Championship. At the Nordea Masters, he finished at 11-under 282, one stroke better than runners-up Matthew Fitzpatrick and Chris Wood.

Tournament Records

The Golf Course

In 2018-19, the tournament took place at Hills Golf & Sports Club in Gothenburg. Previously, multiple courses hosted the tournament over the years. Those include PGA Sweden National near Malmo; Bro Hof Slott Golf Club in Bro, a suburb of Stockholm; and Barseback Golf & Country Club in Malmo.

Nordea Invitation Facts, Figures and Trivia

  • The tournament was created in 1991 through the merger of two existing Swedish tournaments. The Scandinavian Enterprise Open and the PLM Open combined operations and came out of that merger as the Scandinavian Masters.
  • There has not yet been a back-to-back winner in this tournament.
  • Colin Montgomerie and Lee Westwood have the most wins with three each. Monty won the inaugural Scandinavian Masters in 1991, and added victories in 1999 and 2001. Westwood first won in 1996, and again in 2000 and 2012.
  • Graeme McDowell's first win on the European Tour happened at the 2002 Scandinavian Masters. McDowell still holds the tourney record for youngest winner; he was five days past his 23rd birthday.
  • Luke Donald's first European Tour win also happened in this tournament, in 2004 (although it was two years after Donald had already won on the PGA Tour).
  • Jesper Parnevik, in 1995, was the first Swede to win this tournament, and he won again in 1998.
  • At the 2013 tournament, Andrew Dodt scored two holes-in-one in the same round, en route to a 65 in Round 2.

    Winners of the Nordea Invitation Tournament

    Past champions listed by year, with the name of the tournament at the time it was played (p-won playoff):

    2019 - Erik Van Rooyen, 261

    Nordea Masters
    2018 - Paul Waring-p, 266
    2017 - Renato Paratore, 281
    2016 - Matthew Fitzpatrick, 272
    2015 - Alex Noren, 276
    2014 - Thongchai Jaidee-p, 272
    2013 - Mikko Ilonen, 267
    2012 - Lee Westwood, 269

    Nordea Scandinavian Masters
    2011 - Alexander Noren, 273
    2010 - Richard S. Johnson, 277

    SAS Masters
    2009 - Ricardo Gonzalez, 282
    2008 - Peter Hanson, 271

    Scandinavian Masters
    2007 - Mikko Ilonen, 274

    EnterCard Scandinavian Masters
    2006 - Marc Warren-p, 278

    Scandinavian Masters by Carlsberg
    2005 - Mark Hensby-p, 262
    2004 - Luke Donald, 272

    Scandic Carlsberg Scandinavian Masters
    2003 - Adam Scott, 277

    Volvo Scandinavian Masters
    2002 - Graeme McDowell, 270
    2001 - Colin Montgomerie, 274
    2000 - Lee Westwood, 270
    1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
    1998 - Jesper Parnevik, 273
    1997 - Joakim Haeggman, 270
    1996 - Lee Westwood-p, 281
    1995 - Jesper Parnevik, 270

    Scandinavian Masters
    1994 - Vijay Singh, 268
    1993 - Peter Baker-p, 278
    1992 - Nick Faldo, 277
    1991 - Colin Montgomerie, 270