National League Rookies Of The Year

A rundown of all of the National League Rookies of the Year

Kris Bryant 2015 playoffs
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

At the conclusion of every baseball season, the Baseball Writers Association of America votes on the Rookie of the Year for the National and American Leagues. In order to be eligible for the award, players must have at least 130 at-bats, 45 days on the active roster of a Major League team, or 50 innings pitched by September 1st.

The first Rookie of the Year award went to Jackie Robinson. At the time, the award was named after Chicago White Sox owner J. Louis Comiskey, but in 1987 the award was renamed for Jackie Robinson on the 40th anniversary of Robinson winning it. In 1947 and 1948, the award was given to the best overall rookie, but since 1949 it has been given to one player per league.

While winning the award isn't a guarantee of future greatness, 10 of the 69 winners of the National League award are in the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

National League Rookies of the Year

  • 1988: Chris Sabo, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1987: Benito Santiago, San Diego Padres
  • 1986: Todd Worrell, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1985: Vince Coleman, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1984: Dwight Gooden, New York Mets
  • 1983: Darryl Strawberry, New York Mets
  • 1982: Steve Sax, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1981: Fernando Valenzuela, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1980: Steve Howe, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1979: Rick Sutcliffe, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1978: Bob Horner, Atlanta Braves
  • 1977: Andre Dawson, Montreal Expos
  • 1976: Pat Zachry, Cincinnati Reds, and Butch Metzger, San Diego Padres
  • 1975: John Montefusco, San Francisco Giants
  • 1974: Bake McBride, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1973: Gary Matthews, San Francisco Giants
  • 1972: Jon Matlack, New York Mets
  • 1971: Earl Williams, Atlanta Braves
  • 1970: Carl Morton, Montreal Expos
  • 1969: Ted Sizemore, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1968: Johnny Bench, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1967: Tom Seaver, New York Mets
  • 1966: Tommy Helms, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1965: Jim Lefebvre, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1964: Richie Allen, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 1963: Pete Rose, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1962: Ken Hubbs, Chicago Cubs
  • 1961: Billy Williams, Chicago Cubs
  • 1960: Frank Howard, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1959: Willie McCovey, San Francisco Giants
  • 1958: Orlando Cepeda, San Francisco Giants
  • 1957: Jack Sanford, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 1956: Frank Robinson, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1955: Bill Virdon, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1954: Wally Moon, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1953: Jim Gilliam, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1952: Joe Black, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1951: Willie Mays, New York Giants
  • 1950: Sam Jethroe, Boston Braves
  • 1949: Don Newcombe, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1948: Alvin Dark, Boston Braves
  • 1947: Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn Dodgers

Some media outlets, like Baseball Almanac and Sporting News, have their own Rookie of the Year awards. Unlike Sporting News and the Baseball Writers Association of America, Baseball Almanac only gives out one rookie.