Activities Hobbies South Carolina Labor Laws Share PINTEREST Email Print Yellow Dog Productions / Getty Images Hobbies Frugal Living Money Management Bargain Shopping Household Savings Do-It-Yourself Grocery Savings Food Savings Beauty & Health Care Contests Couponing Freebies Fine Arts & Crafts Astrology Card Games & Gambling Cars & Motorcycles Playing Music Learn More By Madison DuPaix Madison DuPaix Madison DuPaix created MyDollarPlan.com, a personal finance website, and has written on career planning and finance for the Mint Life Blog and Fidelity.com. Learn about our Editorial Process Updated on 09/01/19 If you are a South Carolina teen who wants to work, then it's important to know the child labor laws in the state. How old do you have to be to work in the state? How many hours may you work? Do different rules apply to work during the school year as opposed to working when school is out? With this review of the minimum legal age to work in South Carolina, get the answers to these questions and more. Child Labor Laws in South Carolina Throughout the country, teens generally begin working at age 14 because that's what federal child labor laws state the minimum age to work is, although there are some exceptions. That being said, child labor laws in each state may also indicate the minimum age to work and which permits young people need to do so. When there is a conflict between federal and state laws, the more restrictive law will apply. In South Carolina, juveniles do not need a child employment certificate to work or an age certificate, although minors will be provided with an age certificate by request. It is not, however, required under South Carolina state law. Minors can obtain age certificates at the South Carolina State Department of Labor. Minimum Age The general minimum age of employment for South Carolina youth is 14, although the state allows younger children who are performers to work in show business. If their families are agricultural workers, children younger than age 14 may also participate in farm labor. Children of any age may work in a business their parents own. Children of any age may also deliver newspapers to consumers. Minors ages 14 and 15 may work up to three hours per day on school days and up to 18 hours per week during the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. When school is out for summer, winter or spring break, minors may work up to eight hours per day and up to 40 hours per week. During this period, they may work as late as 9 p.m. Appropriate jobs for young teens include cashiering, serving food, bussing tables or car washing. However, these children may not work in manufacturing jobs or jobs that require them to use power-driven machines. They generally may not work in professions deemed hazardous. Teens in the 16-17 age bracket have more freedom than younger teens and children in the workforce. For example, they do not have limitations on the hours they work or the times they work. While they may design their schedule in a way that's suitable for their employer, they may not work in hazardous jobs in manufacturing, construction, and similar fields. Wrapping Up For more information about working as a teen in South Carolina, visit the South Carolina State Labor website.