Activities Hobbies What Is the Minimum Legal Age to Work in Michigan? Children May Work in Limited Capacities Share PINTEREST Email Print Alex Potemkin / Getty Images Hobbies Frugal Living Money Management Bargain Shopping Household Savings Do-It-Yourself Grocery Savings Food Savings Beauty & Health Care Contests Couponing Freebies Fine Arts & Crafts Astrology Card Games & Gambling Cars & Motorcycles Playing Music Learn More By Madison DuPaix Madison DuPaix Madison DuPaix created MyDollarPlan.com, a personal finance website, and has written on career planning and finance for the Mint Life Blog and Fidelity.com. Learn about our Editorial Process Updated on 10/23/19 If you're a young person, you may be eager to become employed and earn your own money. However, you will need to abide by the labor laws of the state in which you live. Michigan has laws regarding the minimum legal age to work in the state. Even if you're old enough to work, there are limits to how many hours you can work per week or per day. There are also differences between the amount of time you can work during the school year versus when you can work when school is out. Working in Michigan as a Youth If you're a youth who'd like to join the labor force in Michigan, you'll need a child employment certificate. The state requires these certificates for all kids under age 18. You can obtain an employment certificate from your school. Although you'll need an employment certificate, Michigan does not require that minor workers have age certificates. Minimum Age to Work in Michigan Under federal child labor laws, the minimum age to work is 14 with some exceptions. But child labor laws in each state can supersede federal law. States often have their own minimum ages to work and they determine which permits are necessary. You should understand the type of work you are allowed to do as mandated by your state. When there's a conflict between federal and state laws, the more restrictive law applies. If a state's law says that a child can begin working at 12 years old but the federal government says the age is 14, the child would have to wait until age 14 regardless of his state's more lenient rule. That's not a problem in Michigan because the state says youths can generally begin working at 14 in a number of fields, so its rules are in line with those at the federal level. But there are a few additional rules regarding hours and school attendance. Other Minor Labor Laws If you're in the 14- to 15-year-old age bracket, you may work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. However, there are limitations on how long you can work. Also, you can't be in school and at work collectively for more than 48 hours per week. So, if your school day is six hours, you'll spend 30 hours in school per week—six multiplied by five is 30. That means you can't work more than 18 hours per week. If you're an older teen who falls in the 16- to 17-year-old age bracket, you can work between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10:30 p.m. from Sunday through Thursday. You still can't work and be in school collectively for more than 48 hours per week. Also, you can't work for more than 24 hours per week while school is in session. Teens may work longer hours when school is not in session during the summer and extended school holiday breaks. Summer vacation is legally defined as June 1 through Labor Day. You're not allowed to work during regular school hours if you're age 15 or younger. Child Workers Michigan allows children under the age of 14 to work in some very limited capacities. Children between the ages of 11 and 14 can work as athletic referees at sports matches that include children younger than they are. Children in this age group may also work as caddies for golf or bridge. Lastly, juveniles 13 and up can get work setting traps for informal clay shooting events. Where to Learn More If you're interested in more information about working as a youth in Michigan, then visit the Michigan State Labor website.