Mayakoba Golf Tournament on the PGA Tour

Jerry Kelly tees off during the Mayakoba Golf Classic tournament on the PGA Tour.

Michael Cohen/Getty Images


The Mayakoba Golf Classic is a professional golf tournament in Mexico that is part of the PGA Tour, the world's premiere pro golf tour. The tournament started in 2007, when it was an "opposite field" event, meaning it was played on the same dates as another, bigger PGA Tour event. Beginning in 2013, the tournament moved from a February date to standalone dates in the fall, resulting in higher-quality fields.

From 2013 through 2017, the tournament went by the name "OHL Classic at Mayakoba." It is a full-field tournament, four rounds (72 holes) in duration, and played at stroke play.

The tournament is played in an area on the eastern shore of the Yucatan Peninsula, next to the Caribbean Sea, that is very popular with tourists. The golf course is 30 minutes south of Cancun's airport, and the resort island of Cozumel is opposite the course on the mainland.

How to Get Tickets

General admission, single-day tickets are priced at $10, or $20 for a good-any-day ticket. Those prices apply both to advance sales and to tickets purchased on-site. For $60 advance/$70 on-site, fans can gain single-day entrance to three different elevated and covered hospitality venues located around the course.

Visit the tickets section of the tournament's official website for the full details or to make an advance purchase. Golf fans outside of Mexico can also find information there about travel packages that include tickets plus lodging at one of the Mayakoba Golf Resort's hotels.

Travelers can also take advantage of free shuttle service to the golf course from both Playa del Carmen (the resort is 15 minutes north of the city proper) and Cancun.

Mayakoba's Golf Course

The tournament has been played at El Camaleón Golf Club in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, every year of its history. The golf course has alternated between par-70 and par-71 setups since 2007, but for the 2018 tournament it plays as a par-70.

A view of the 15th green at El Camaleon Golf Club, site of the Mayakoba Golf Classic.
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

The golf course, designed by Hall of Fame golfer Greg Norman, is part of the Mayakoba Resort. Resort guests get preferred rates for golf, but the course is open to the general public, too. The resort includes multiple hotels and restaurants, plus a Jim McLean Golf Academy.

There are two different styles of holes on the El Camaleón course. An upper, inland part of the course features holes that are rocky and rolling. Holes along the ocean-side of the course are flatter and run past mangrove wetlands.

Tournament Winners

Past champions and their winning totals:

2019 — Brendon Todd, 264
2018 — Matt Kuchar, 262
2017 — Patton Kizzire, 265
2016 — Pat Perez, 263
2015 — Graeme McDowell, 266
2014 — Charley Hoffman, 267
2013 — Harris English, 263
2012 — John Huh, 271
2011 — Johnson Wagner, 267
2010 — Cameron Beckman, 269
2009 — Mark Wilson, 267
2008 — Brian Gay, 264
2007 — Fred Funk, 266

The short history of the tournament already includes four playoffs. In 2015, McDowell defeated Jason Bohn and Russell Knox in extra holes. In 2012, it was Huh over Robert Allenby in a playoff; in 2011, Wagner defeated Spencer Levin and in the inaugural event Funk beat Jose Coceres.

Huh's victory over Allenby required eight extra holes, making it the second-longest sudden-death playoff in PGA Tour history.

Tournament Records

The 18-hole scoring record is 61, established by Roland Thatcher in 2008. It happened in the third round, after Thatcher had barely made the cut. He followed it with a 68 in the fourth round and finished tied for ninth place.

The 72-hole scoring record of 262 was established in 2018 by Matt Kuchar in his victory. That bettered the previous mark of 263, shared by Harris English and Pat Perez.

The tournament record for wins is one. The Mayaboka Golf Classic is one of the few PGA Tour events that has not yet produced a double champion.

The oldest winner is Fred Funk, who was 50 years old when he won the first Mayakoba Classic in 2007. At that time, Funk was just the sixth golfer age 50 or older to win a PGA Tour tournament. The youngest winner is John Huh, who was 22 at the time of his 2012 victory.