Manulife LPGA Classic

Facts, figures and trivia about the LPGA Tour tournament

Hee Young Park wins the 2014 Manulife Financial LPGA Classic
Hee Young Park celebrates her playoff victory at the 2014 Manulife Financial LPGA Classic. Harry How/Getty Images

The Manulife LPGA Classic joined the LPGA Tour schedule in 2012, becoming the tour's second stop in Canada (in addition to the Canadian Women's Open). The tournament ended following the 2017 event.

The title sponsor Manulife is an insurance and financial services company based in Toronto. The tournament was played in Waterloo, Ontario, west of Toronto, and was a full-field, 72-hole event that was played annually in June or July.

Manulife LPGA Classic Records

  • 18 holes: 61 - Hee Young Park, 2013; Inbee Park, 2014
  • 72 holes: 258 - Hee Young Park and Angela Stanford, 2013

Manulife LPGA Classic Golf Course

The tournament is played at Whistle Bear Golf Club in Cambridge, Ontario, Canada, where it moved in 2015. Before that Grey Silo Golf Course, a public course in Waterloo, was the site.

Manulife LPGA Classic Trivia and Notes

  • The winner of the first Manulife Classic was a first-time winner on the LPGA. Brittany Lang defeated three others in a playoff to claim her first career LPGA win here in 2012.
  • The second Manulife Classic also went to a playoff, and Hee Young Park won it - her second LPGA win. So the first tourney winner was winning for the first time, and the second tourney winner was winning for the second time.
  • In 2013, Park and Angela Stanford both tied the LPGA Tour record for 72-hole score (258). And their score in relation to par - 26-under - was second-best in tour history.

Winners of the Manulife Classic


Manulife Financial LPGA Classic
2017 - Ariya Jutanugarn-p, 271
2016 - Caroline Masson, 272
2015 - Suzann Pettersen, 266
2014 - Inbee Park, 261
2013 - Hee Young Park-p, 258
2012 - Brittany Lang-p, 268