Manchester United Club Profile and History

Manchester United corner flag
James Williamson - AMA / Getty Images

Manchester United have been the dominant force since the Premier League's inception in 1992.

The Red Devils won 13 titles and two Champions Leagues under their long-serving manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

The likes of Arsenal, Chelsea and most recently Manchester City have challenged United in several seasons since the Premier League began, winning eight titles between them, but when in charge, Ferguson always rebuilt his squad, ensuring that the Red Devils bounced back from the odd indifferent campaign.

Ferguson, who in the 2010-11 season overhauled Liverpool’s record of 18 league titles by helping United to their 19th, retired in May 2013 after 27 years in the job. His replacement David Moyes lasted a year before being succeeded by Dutchman Louis van Gaal.

Since Ferguson left, the United board and their supporters have realized just what a hard act the Scot is to follow. The Moyes reign was short-lived, the magnitude of the job too much for the former Everton boss.

Even the experienced Van Gaal, a man with seemingly limitless confidence in his own ability, has struggled. The slow, laborious style of play has left fans dissatisfied and yearning for the days of Ferguson.

United are no longer the dominant force they once were and, for some, that is taking some getting used to.

Quick Facts

  • Founded: 1878
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Old Trafford (76,212)
  • Nickname: The Red Devils
  • Home Colors: Red and White
  • Top Goalscorer All-Time: Bobby Charlton
  • First Division/Premier League Titles: (20) 1907–08, 1910–11, 1951–52, 1955–56, 1956–57, 1964–65, 1966–67, 1992-93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2010-11, 2012-13
  • FA Cup Titles: (11) 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
  • League Cup Titles: (4): 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10
  • European Cup/Champions League Titles: (3) 1967–68, 1998–99, 2007–08
  • European Cup Winners' Cup: (1) 1990–91
  • UEFA Super Cup: (1) 1991
  • Intercontinental Cup: (1) 1999
  • FIFA Club World Cup: (1) 2008


The club was formed as Newton Heath L&YR F.C in 1878 but changed its name to Manchester United in 1902.

The Red Devils won their first title in 1908, but it was not until the 1950s, and after the great Sir Matt Busby had taken over as manager, that the club enjoyed its first period of sustained success.

He steered the club to three championships over the decade, and United also became the first English club to compete in the European Cup, where they lost in the semi-finals to Real Madrid in 1957.

The club endured its darkest day in 1958 when the plane carrying the team home from a European match crashed, killing eight players in a tragedy known as the Munich air disaster.

Busby, who survived the crash along with arguably the club's greatest ever player Sir Bobby Charlton, rebuilt the team. A side featuring the dazzling George Best and Denis Law won two league titles in the '60s, before claiming their maiden European Cup, defeating Benfica in the1968 final.

After Busby resigned in 1969, no manager came close to emulating his success until Ferguson arrived in '86. After reportedly coming within one defeat of losing his job in 1990, Ferguson built a dynasty at Old Trafford and the club has now won more league titles than Liverpool.

A crop of homegrown players who came through in the '90s including Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Paul Scholes and the Neville brothers, Gary and Phil, were integral to many of the club's triumphs.