LPGA's CME Group Tour Championship

Past champions plus facts and figures about the LPGA Tour season-ender

Hee Young Park during the 2011 CME Group Titleholders, which she won.
This tournament was first played in 2011, and Hee Young Park won it for her first-ever LPGA victory. Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

The CME Group Tour Championship is the season-ending tournament on the LPGA Tour schedule. It has been played since 2011, and is a 72-hole, stroke play event.

This event is a short-field tournament whose field (around 72 players) is determined by the seasonlong Race to the CME Globe points chase. The tournament winner receives one-quarter of the tournament purse. The Race to the CME Globe points champion - who is crowned at the Tour Championship - gets a $1 million bonus.

This event's name has caused some confusion. Although it is called the Tour Championship now, it is not related to the LPGA Tour Championship played in 2009-10 and which it replaced on the schedule. When this event debuted it was called the CME Group Titleholders, but was not related to the historic Titleholders Championship, a onetime LPGA major.

2020 Tournament

  • When: Nov. 19-22, 2020
  • Where: Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Florida

2019 Tournament
Sei Young Kim birdied the final hole to win the tournament and the $1.5 million first-place check — the largest check in the history of women's golf. Charley Hull charged over the back nine, birdying five of her last seven holes, including the final three, to take the clubhouse lead at 17-under. But Kim's birdie gave her a final score of 18-under 270. It was Kim's 10th career win on the LPGA Tour.

2018 CME Group Tour Championship
Lexi Thompson carded a 65 in the first round, and at the end of the final round she was the winner by four strokes. Thompson finished at 18-under 270; the runner-up was Nelly Korda. It was Thompson's 10th career win on the LPGA Tour.

LPGA Tour tournament site

CME Group Tour Championship Records

  • 18 holes: 62 - Lydia Ko, 2016
  • 72 holes: 269 - Charley Hull, 2016

CME Group Tour Championship Golf Courses

The tournament has been played in Florida since its inception, first at Grand Cypress Golf Club in Orlando, then at Twin Eagles Club in Naples. The event spent one year at each of those courses before moving to its current home, Tiburon Golf Club in Naples. Tiburon is part of the Ritz Carlton Golf Resort.

Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • The tournament was played for the first time in 2011, and it had a first-time winner: Hee Young Park. Park won by two strokes over Paula Creamer and Sandra Gal.
  • The Race to the CME Globe debuted during the 2014 LPGA Tour season. Prior to that, the CME Globe Tour Championship field was determined based on Top 3 finishes at events on the LPGA schedule leading up to the season finale.
  • That first Race to the CME Globe points chase was won by Lydia Ko, who earned it by winning this tournament. Her combined payday for the two wins was $1.5 million, the biggest payday in LPGA history to that point.
  • In 2016, both the LPGA's Player of the Year and Vare Trophy (low scoring average) awards came down to the final round of this tournament. In Gee Chun wound up beating Lydia Ko for the scoring trophy by .013 of a point, and Ariya Jutanugarn beat Ko for the Player of the Year Award.

Winners of the CME Group Tour Championship

2019 - Sei Young Kim, 270
2018 - Lexi Thompson, 270
2017 - Ariya Jutanugarn, 273
2016 - Charley Hull, 269

CME Group Titleholders
2015 - Cristie Kerr, 271
2014 - Lydia Ko-p, 278
2013 - Shanshan Feng, 273
2012 - Na Yeon Choi, 274
2011 - Hee Young Park, 279