LPGA Tour Race to the CME Globe Points Chase

How the Seasonlong Points Race Works

Race to the CME Globe logo
The Race to the CME Globe logo displayed at a tournament site. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

The LPGA Tour introduced the Race to the CME Globe beginning with its 2014 season schedule. The Race to the CME Globe is a FedEx Cup-style seasonlong points chase that culminates at the final tournament of the year, the CME Group Tour Championship, with a million-dollar payout.

Race to the CME Globe Basics

At each LPGA Tour tournament, from the season-opener through the Lorena Ochoa Invitational, LPGA Tour members earn points based on their tournament finishes. How many players earn points depends on the field size:

  • Tournaments with a cut: At LPGA Tour events that have a cut, all tour members who make the cut earn Race to the CME Globe points.
  • Tournaments without a cut: At LPGA Tour events that do not have a cut, tour members finishing in the Top 40 and ties earn points. There is one exception, which follows.
  • Lorena Ochoa Invitational: The last tournament at which Race to the CME Globe points are awarded prior to the concluding CME Group Tour Championship is the Lorena Ochoa Invitational. The Ochoa has a field smaller than 40, so only the tour members who finish among the Top 20 and ties at this tournament earn points.

Points Reset For Final Tournament

As noted, the new name of the LPGA's season-ending tournament is the CME Group Tour Championship. That's where the winner of the Race to the CME Globe will be crowned.

However, after the Lorena Ochoa Invitational, Race to the CME Globe points will be reset. The reset guarantees that the Race to the CME Globe winner will be determined at the final tournament (nobody can clinch the points title prior to the season finale, in other words).

The reset will give an advantage to the golfers leading the points chase, but the points title will still be up for grabs at the final tournament. The top 72 golfers on the points list get to play in the Tour Championship, but only the top nine (after the reset) in points will have a mathematical chance to win the points title.

Points earned at the CME Group Tour Championship - which are much greater than those available at regular tour stops and even majors - will be added to each golfer's reset points, and the resulting totals will determine the Race to the CME Group winner.

Points at 'Regular' Tournaments vs. Major Championships

Points available at each of the LPGA Tour's five majors will be 20-percent higher than those available at a "regular" tour stop. For example, a non-major event such as the Kingsmill Championship will award 500 Race to the CME Globe points to its winner.

The winner at each of the major championships, however, will earn 625 points.

How Much Does the Points Champion Earn?

There will be two big payouts available at the LPGA's season-ending CME Group Tour Championship. The winner of the tournament gets a $500,000 first-place check.

The winner of the Race to the CME Globe points chase gets a check for $1 million. Only two other golfers will earn money as a result of the points chase: the runner-up gets $150,000, and the third-place finisher in points earns $100,000.

The tournament payout is official money and counts toward the LPGA money list. The million-dollar Race to the CME Globe check is unofficial money and does not count toward the money list. But it does count toward the winner's bank account!

Eligibility for the Race to the CME Globe

Only LPGA Tour members are eligible to earn points. Non-tour members do not accumulate Race to the CME Globe points.

Winners of the Race to the CME Globe

2019 - Sei Young Kim
2018 - Ariya Jutanugarn
2017 - Lexi Thompson
2016 - Ariya Jutanugarn
2015 - Lydia Ko
2014 - Lydia Ko

More information is available on LPGA.com.