LPGA Pure Silk Championship Golf Tournament

Cristie Kerr wins the 2009 Kingsmill Championship
Cristie Kerr has three wins at the Kingsmill Championship. Above, she celebrates after sinking the last putt of her win in 2009. Hunter Martin / Getty Images

The Pure Silk Championship (formerly known as the Kingsmill Championship) is an annual tournament on the LPGA Tour schedule. This event is considered one of the best and most important (outside of the majors) on the LPGA schedule.

The tournament has long been played at Kingsmill Resort in Virginia, and previous title sponsors include Kingsmill and Michelob. The tournament is a four-day, 72-hole stroke-play event.

2020 Tournament

  • When: May 21-24, 2020
  • Where: Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia

2019 Pure Silk Championship
Bronte Law earned her first LPGA Tour victory by two strokes. After opening with a 65 in the first round, Law added three more rounds of 68 or below to finish at 17-under 267. Nasa Hataoka, who began the final round tied with Law, was runner-up along with Brooke Henderson and Madelene Sagstrom.

Pure Silk Championship Records:

  • 18 holes: 62 - Jiyai Shin, 2012; In Gee Chun, 2016
  • 72 holes: 264 - Lexi Thompson, 2017

Pure Silk Championship Golf Course:

Until 2019, "Kingsmill" had always been part of the tournament name, so that's a clue. This tournament has always been played at the Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia. The resort's River Course is the one used for this tournament.

Pure Silk Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Annika Sorenstam set the tournament's 72-hole scoring record in winning the 2008 tournament, which was Sorenstam's 72nd victory on the LPGA Tour. And it was also her last. She retired at the end of that year.
  • Jiyai Shin and Paula Creamer engaged in the second-longest sudden-death playoff in LPGA Tour history at the 2012 Kingsmill Championship. Shin finally won the ninth extra hole.
  • Prior to the first LPGA tournament in 2003, Kingsmill Resort was the site of the Michelob Championship at Kingsmill, a PGA Tour event from 1981-2002.
  • Sorenstam's win in 2008 and Karrie Webb's in 2006 were both by seven strokes, the tournament record for margin of victory.
  • Cristie Kerr is the tournament leader in wins with three. Ariya Jutanugarn is, so far, the only other golfer with multiple wins.

Winners of the Pure Silk Championship:

(p-playoff; w-shortened to 54 holes by weather)

2019 - Bronte Law, 267

Kingsmill Championship

2018 - Ariya Jutanugarn-p-w, 199
2017 - Lexi Thompson, 274
2016 - Ariya Jutanugarn, 270
2015 - Minjee Lee, 269
2014 - Lizette Salas, 271
2013 - Cristi Kerr-p, 272
2012 - Jiyai Shin-p, 268
2011 - Not played
2010 - Not played

Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill
2009 - Cristie Kerr, 268
2008 - Annika Sorenstam, 265
2007 - Suzann Pettersen-p, 274
2006 - Karrie Webb, 270
2005 - Cristie Kerr, 276
2004 - Se Ri Pak, 275

Michelob Light Open at Kingsmill
2003 - Grace Park, 275