Lowest PGA Tour Scoring Averages Ever

PGA Tour Records: Best Scoring Averages

Tiger Woods (with caddie Steve Williams) during the 2008 U.S. Open.
Tiger Woods dominates the list of best scoring averages in PGA Tour history.

  Paul Mounce / Corbis via Getty Images

Below are the PGA Tour records for lowest scoring averages in tour history — lowest actual scoring averages, and lowest adjusted scoring averages.

In each case, the record-holder is Tiger Woods. What's the difference between the two stats? That's explained in more detail below, but the short version is this: Adjusted scoring average is a statistic created by the tour to take into account the difficulty of the golf courses being played.

For both actual scoring average and adjusted scoring average we've listed the 10 best averages of all-time on the PGA Tour.

Lowest Actual PGA Tour Scoring Averages

All of the lowest actual PGA Tour scoring averages have been recorded since the year 2000 ... except for one that goes all the way back to 1945.

  • 68.17 — Tiger Woods, 2000
  • 68.34 — Byron Nelson, 1945
  • 68.54 — Dustin Johnson, 2018
  • 68.84 — Tiger Woods, 2009
  • 68.87 — Tiger Woods, 2001
  • 68.89 — Jason Day, 2015
  • 68.94 — Jordan Spieth, 2017
  • 69.00 — Tiger Woods, 2002
  • 69.03 — Davis Love III, 2001
  • 69.10 — Tiger Woods, 2007

(Actual scoring average, sometimes referred to as the golfer's "non-adjusted" average, is exactly what it sounds like. A golfer's total number of strokes played over the course of the full PGA Tour season is divided by his number of rounds played, producing his actual, 18-hole scoring average.)

Nelson's average in 1945 was achieved the year he won 18 tournaments total and had a winning streak of 11 in a row. His scoring average is sometimes left out of compilations such as these because the Vardon Trophy was not awarded during the World War II years. The Vardon Trophy is the annual award given by the PGA of America for lowest season scoring average. While the award wasn't handed out in 1945, Nelson's scoring average was, in fact, computed, so we've included it on the list above.

Lowest Adjusted PGA Tour Scoring Averages

(Note: Adjusted averages have only been calculated since 1988)

  • 67.79 — Tiger Woods, 2000
  • 67.79 — Tiger Woods, 2007
  • 68.05 — Tiger Woods, 2009
  • 68.41 — Tiger Woods, 2003
  • 68.43 — Tiger Woods, 1999
  • 68.56 — Tiger Woods, 2002
  • 68.65 — Vijay Singh, 2003
  • 68.66 — Tiger Woods, 2005
  • 68.70 — Dustin Johnson, 2018
  • 68.81 — Greg Norman, 1994
  • 68.81 — Tiger Woods, 2001

The PGA Tour statistic known as "adjusted scoring average" is a method of calculating scoring average that takes the stroke average of the entire field into account. If a golfer plays lots of "tough" tournaments — ones with higher scoring by the field — his actual scoring average will receive a downward adjustment; and if he plays lots of "easy" tournaments according to field scoring average, his actual average will be adjusted upward. This is a way of talking the quality of the tournament and difficulty of the golf course into account.

Adjusted scoring average is the metric used in awarding the Vardon Trophy, and also in awarding the PGA Tour's own Byron Nelson Award.