Lorena Ochoa Match Play on the LPGA Tour

Facts and figures, plus past champions at the LPGA tournament

Lorena Ochoa presents the trophy to Lexi Thompson at 2013 Lorena Ochoa Invitational
Tournament host Lorena Ochoa (left) presents the trophy to 2013 champion Lexi Thompson. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Previously a stroke-play tournament played near the end of the year and named The Lorena Ochoa Invitational, in 2017 this tournament was re-born as the Lorena Ochoa Match Play and moved into the early to mid-season on the LPGA Tour schedule. It turned out, however, to be the final time the tournament was played.

The Lorena Ochoa Match Play was the only LPGA tournament played in Mexico. It was hosted by its namesake, Lorena Ochoa, who retired from tour golf following the 2010 LPGA season.

As a stroke play event, the field was limited to 36 golfers. Aas match play, 64 golfers started the tournament. At its match play debut in 2017, this was the first match play tournament on the LPGA since 2012.

2018 Tournament
This tournament was left off the LPGA Tour's schedule in 2018 and will not return.

2017 Lorena Ochoa Match Play
In its first year as a match-play event, Sei Young Kim won a closely fought championship match. Kim defeated top-seeded Ariya Jutanugarn, 1-up. In the third-place match, M.J. Hur beat Michelle Wie, 1-up in 22 holes. Jutanugarn had beaten Wie in the semifinals, and Kim had defeated Hur.

2016 Lorena Ochoa Invitational
Carlota Ciganda shot a final-round 68 that included a birdie on the 17th hole, and won the tournament by two strokes. It was Ciganda's second LPGA victory of the year, and her career. She finished at 13-under 275, two in front of five golfers who tied for second: Jodi Ewart-Shadoff, Angela Stanford, Karine Icher, Sarah Jane Smith and Austin Ernst.

Lorena Ochoa Invitational Records

  • 18 holes: 63 - Angela Stanford, 2010; Carlota Ciganda, 2015
  • 72 holes: 269 - I.K. Kim, 2010

Lorena Ochoa Invitational Golf Courses

The tournament originally was played at Guadalajara Country Club in Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico - Ochoa's home course, the course she grew up playing. Guadalajara CC was the site from 2008 through the 2013 tournament.

In 2014, the tournament moved to the country's capital, Mexico City, and to Club de Golf Mexico.

Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • Tournament namesake and host Ochoa played the event three times before retiring, finishing tied for 14th (2008), tied for sixth (2009) and tied 25th (2010). She also played post-retirement in 2012, placing tied 18th.
  • In the early history of the Lorena Ochoa Invitational, there has not yet been a 2-time champ. Angela Stanford, winner of the inaugural tournament in 2008, has come closest: She was joint runner-up in 2012 by one stroke to Cristie Kerr.
  • Stanford also holds the tournament's 18-hole scoring record, in 2010 becoming the first to post 63.
  • The tournament is probably best-known as the site of Michelle Wie's first LPGA victory. Wie won by two strokes over Paula Creamer in 2009.
  • Lexi Thompson's win in 2013 was her third LPGA victory, all of them before age 19.

Winners of the LPGA Lorena Ochoa Invitational

2017 - Sei Young Kim def. Ariya Jutanugarn, 1-up

(Prior to 2017 the tournament was stroke play)
2016 - Carlota Ciganda, 275
2015 - Inbee Park, 270
2014 - Christina Kim-p, 273
2013 - Lexi Thompson, 272
2012 - Cristie Kerr, 272
2011 - Catriona Matthew, 276
2010 - I.K. Kim, 269
2009 - Michelle Wie, 275
2008 - Angela Stanford, 275