KPMG Women's PGA Championship Tournament

Facts, trivia and history of the major formerly named LPGA Championship

Inbee Park at the 2013 LPGA Championship
Inbee Park won this tournament back-to-back in 2013-14. Scott Halleran/Getty Images

This tournament was named the LPGA Championship from the time it was first played in 1955 through the 2014 tournament. But beginning in 2015, this event was taken over by the PGA of America and renamed - with its title sponsor - the KPMG Women's PGA Championship.

The KPMG Women's PGA Championship is one of the five major championships in women's golf. For many years it was known as the McDonald's LPGA Championship; beginning in 2010, Wegmans became the title sponsor; and, as noted, the PGA of America assumed operations in 2015. For more about that switch from the LPGA to the PGA of America, see the article 6 key things you need to know about the Women's PGA Championship that we published at the time the change was announced.

One important thing to note is that the tournament's new name is exactly that: just a new name. All the history of the LPGA Championship continues under the new Women's PGA Championship name.

2020 KPMG Women's PGA Championship

  • When: June 25-28, 2020
  • Where: Aronimink Golf Club in Newtown Square, Penn.
  • Ticket info

2019 Tournament
Hannah Green made a par-saving putt on the final hole after hitting into a bunker, and it also saved the victory for her. Green, a 22-year-old Australian, won not just her first major championship, but her first LPGA tournament of any kind. (She won twice previously on the Australian tour, and had three wins on the Symetra Tour before moving up to the LPGA.) Green was the leader entering the final round, and held off a charging Sung Hyun Park. Park, the defending champ, birdied the 18th to shoot 68 and finish at 8-under. But Green's par-saver gave her a winning total of 9-under 279.

2018 Women's PGA Championship
Sung Hyun Park won her second major championship, this time in a playoff. Adding to her 2017 U.S. Women's Open victory, Park defeated So Yeon Ryu on the second hole of a playoff. Park, Ryu and Nasa Hataoka all finished at 10-under 278, but Hataoka was eliminated on the first extra hole. On the second, Park birdied to Ryu's par.

Official website

Women's PGA Championship Records

Women's PGA Championship Golf Courses

When the PGA of America took over running this tournament in 2015, the event also changed the way it made use of golf courses. For much of its previous history - when it was known as the LPGA Championship - the tournament tended to settle on a semi-permanent host course, take place at that course for multiple years in a row, before eventually moving on to a different location. For example:

  • From 2010-13, the course was Locust Hill Country Club in Pittsford, N.Y.
  • From 2005-09, it was Bulle Rock Golf Course in Havre de Grace, Md.
  • Prior to Bulle Rock, the LPGA Championship was played at DuPont Country Club in Wilmington, Del., from 1994-2004; before that, Bethesda Country Club in Bethesda, Md., 1990-93.
  • The Jack Nicklaus Sports Center course in Kings Island, Ohio, and Pleasant Valley Country Club in Sutton, Mass., are two other host courses from the past.

In 2015, the tournament began rotating on an annual basis, moving to "prestigious courses in major metropolitan markets," just as the men's PGA Championship does.

Women's PGA Championship Trivia and Notes

  • The LPGA Championship was first played in 1955, making this the second oldest tournament on the LPGA Tour (behind only the U.S. Women's Open).
  • Beverly Hanson won that first tournament, defeating Louise Suggs 4 and 3 in the championship match. Yes, the first LPGA Championship ended in a match-play finale, although the first three rounds were stroke play. That was the only time match play was used in this tournament.
  • When Sandra Post won in 1968, she was a rookie, just 19 years old, and defeated Kathy Whitworth in a playoff. Post was the youngest major champion in LPGA history until Morgan Pressel's win at the Kraft Nabisco Championship in 2007.
  • Mickey Wright is the only four-time winner of this event. Her victories occurred in 1958, 1960-61 and 1963.
  • This is the only major won by Nancy Lopez during her illustrious career, but she did win it three times: 1978, 1985 and 1989, when it was known as the LPGA Championship.
  • Beth Daniel won just one major, and it was the 1990 LPGA Championship.
  • Other three-time winners are Kathy Whitworth (1967, 1971, 1975); Patty Sheehan (1983-84, 1993); Se Ri Pak (1998, 2002, 2006); Annika Sorenstam (2003-05); and Inbee Park (2013-15).
  • Cristie Kerr (2010) and Yani Tseng (2011) established tournament records in back-to-back years for most strokes under par. Each finished at 19-under. Kerr won by 12 strokes and Tseng won by 10.

Winners of the KPMG Women's PGA Championship

The year-by-year tournament champions:

2019 - Hannah Green
2018 - Sung Hyun Park
2017 - Danielle Kang
2016 - Brooke Henderson
2015 - Inbee Park
2014 - Inbee Park
2013 - Inbee Park
2012 - Shanshan Feng
2011 - Yani Tseng
2010 - Cristie Kerr
2009 - Anna Nordqvist
2008 - Yani Tseng
2007 - Suzann Pettersen
2006 - Se Ri Pak
2005 - Annika Sorenstam
2004 - Annika Sorenstam
2003 - Annika Sorenstam
2002 - Se Ri Pak
2001 - Karrie Webb
2000 - Juli Inkster
1999 - Juli Inkster
1998 - Se Ri Pak
1997 - Chris Johnson
1996 - Laura Davies
1995 - Kelly Robbins
1994 - Laura Davies
1993 - Patty Sheehan
1992 - Betsy King
1991 - Meg Mallon
1990 - Beth Daniel
1989 - Nancy Lopez
1988 - Sherri Turner
1987 - Jane Geddes
1986 - Pat Bradley
1985 - Nancy Lopez
1984 - Patty Sheehan
1983 - Patty Sheehan
1982 - Jan Stephenson
1981 - Donna Caponi
1980 - Sally Little
1979 - Donna Caponi
1978 - Nancy Lopez
1977 - Chako Higuchi
1976 - Betty Burfeindt
1975 - Kathy Whitworth
1974 - Sandra Haynie
1973 - Mary Mills
1972 - Kathy Ahern
1971 - Kathy Whitworth
1970 - Shirley Englehorn
1969 - Betsy Rawls
1968 - Sandra Post
1967 - Kathy Whitworth
1966 - Gloria Ehret
1965 - Sandra Haynie
1964 - Mary Mills
1963 - Mickey Wright
1962 - Judy Kimball
1961 - Mickey Wright
1960 - Mickey Wright
1959 - Betsy Rawls
1958 - Mickey Wright
1957 - Louise Suggs
1956 - Marlene Hagge
1955 - Beverly Hanson