Introduction to the 12 Zodiac Signs: From Aries to Pisces

The Zodiac
 Roberto A Sanchez / Getty Images

What's your Zodiac Sign? You can find out with a free birth chart. If your Zodiac sign is on the cusp (between two signs), you'll want to look closely at that year's exact dates.  

Aries: March 21—April 21

Fire Sign: Courageous, creative, spontaneous, a catalyst, forceful, an agitator, confrontational, a do-er, restless, lover of challenge, ardent, a fighter, dynamic, a leader.  The Ram is brusque, aggressive and lacks subtlety.

Aries in Love is a passionate fool.

Taurus: April 21—May 21

Earth Sign: Goal-oriented, lover of possessions, sensuous, takes sweet time, patient, bull-headed (stubborn), skilled artisan, resonant voice, builder, beautifier, lover of creature comforts.  The Bull is stubborn, stingy and prone to packing on the pounds.  

Taurus in Love is sensual and loyal.  

Gemini: May 21—June 21

Air Sign: Curious, quick intellect, seeker of novelty, erratic, trendy, many sided, lackadaisical, scattered focus, adaptable, friendly, fun, a learner.  The Twins is a sign of mercurial flip-flopping and tricksterish behavior.  

Gemini in Love is playful and fun.

Cancer: June 21—July 21

Water Sign: Emotional, absorbed in moods, cautious around new people, clingy, senses undercurrents, nurturing, keeper of family story, sensitive, hidden strength, pioneer of feeling.  The Crab is irritable and throws temper tantrums.  

Cancer in Love is self-protective and nurturing.  

Leo: July 21—Aug. 21

Fire Sign: Smiley, proud, dignified, expressive, big-hearted, glamorous, regal air, ambitious, passionate, demands respect, lover of adventure and risk.  The Lion is an egomaniac who steals the show.

Leo in Love is regal and proud.

Virgo: Aug. 21—Sept. 21

Earth Sign: Fastidious, always seeking to purify, lover of routine, mechanical, sincere, conscientious, critical of self and others, kind, natural, skilled, precise, articulate.  The Virgin watches over your shoulder, and is a relentless critic.

Virgo in Love is sincere and discriminating.

Libra: Sept. 21—Oct. 21

Air Sign: Stylish, lover of beauty and art, cultural, sophisticated, intellectual, social grace, talkative, diplomatic, a natural in relationship.  The Scales is a sign of evading confrontation, and codependency.

Libra in Love is a natural sounding board, with striking clarity.

Scorpio: Oct. 21—Nov. 21 

Water Sign: Soulful, probing, driven, mesmerizing, secretive, profound, deep healer, drawn to what's occulted (hidden), lover of mysteries, at home in underworld, intensely bonded in relationships, no stranger to dark emotions.  The Scorpion has a sting, so watch out!  

Scorpio in Love is secretive and intense.

Sagittarius: Nov. 21—Dec. 21

Fire Sign: Cheerful, athletic, a seeker, adventurer, world traveler, philosopher (lover of wisdom), refreshingly honest, dot connector, friend to all, enlivening.  The Archer hits its mark, and is frank like that, to the point of hurting others.  

Sagittarius in Love is philosophical and feisty.

Capricorn: Dec. 21—Jan. 21 

Earth Sign: Resourceful, hard-working, master of material realm, persistent, pillar of society, seeks place in establishment, fixed on tangible results, strategizer, private (though with polished public image), a leader, authority, desires to leave enduring legacy.

Capricorn in Love is earthy and status-minded.

Aquarius: Jan. 21—Feb. 21

Air Sign: Trendsetter, flaunts convention, quirky, accepting of all, detached friendliness, otherworldly glamour, humanitarian, tuned in, visionary.

Aquarius in Love is unconventional.

Pisces: Feb. 21—March 21

Water Sign: Enchanting, mystical, devoted, unreachable (lost child), undefined, lacking direction, slips away from anything 'real,' artistic, ethereal, victim, overwhelmed, sublime, expressing divine in art, music or dance.

Pisces in Love is romantic and enchanting.