Qatar Masters Golf Tournament (European Tour)

Branden Grace of South Africa celebrates on the 18th green after winning the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters at Doha Golf Club on January 30, 2016
In 2016, Branden Grace became the first back-to-back winner of the Qatar Masters tournament. Andrew Redington/Getty Images

The Qatar Masters is part of the European Tour's "Gulf Swing," a series of tournaments in the early part of the tour's schedule played in the Persian Gulf area. The tournament dates to 1998, and Commercial Bank has been the title sponsor since 2006.

2019 Qatar Masters

Justin Harding's 66 in the final round was strong enough to earn him the victory. Harding had five birdies, including the final two holes, in a bogey-free back nine to finish at 13-under 275. That was good for a two-stroke win over a group of nine runners-up. For the South African champ, it was his first win on the European Tour.

2018 Tournament
Eddie Pepperell birdied the 16th hole in the final round, then a pair of pars on the final two holes was enough for him to hang on for the one-stroke win. Pepperell finished at 18-under 270, one better than runner-up Oliver Fisher. It was the first career win on the European Tour for Pepperell.

2017 Qatar Masters
Jeunghun Wang of Korea won a 3-way playoff with a birdie on the first playoff hole. Wang, Joakim Lagergren and Jaco van Zyl all finished at 16-under 272. They returned to the par-5 18th hole for the playoff and Wang ended it with a birdie 4. The other two could only manage pars. It was Wang's third career win on the European Tour.

Qatar Masters Records

  • 72 holes: 268 - Paul Lawrie, 1999; Adam Scott, 2008
  • 18 holes: 61 - Adam Scott, 2008

Qatar Masters Golf Courses

The Qatar Masters has been played on the same golf course throughout its history: The Doha Golf Club in Doha, Qatar. (View Doha Golf Club pictures)

Qatar Masters Trivia and Notes

  • The winner of the first Qatar Masters in 1998 was Andrew Coltart.
  • When Paul Lawrie won in 1999, it was his second career victory - and a prelude to his victory several months later at the 1999 British Open. Lawrie won this tournament again in 2012.
  • The first golfers to win this tournament twice were Adam Scott and Paul Lawrie. Scott claimed the Qatar Masters titles in 2002 and 2008; Lawrie in 1999 and 2012.
  • Branden Grace became the third two-time champ in 2016 - and the first golfers to win the Qatar Masters in back-to-back years.
  • From 2005 through 2007, the Qatar Masters was cosanctioned by the Asian Tour.

Winners of the Qatar Masters

(w-tournament shortened by weather)

2019 - Justin Hardin, 275

Commercial Bank Qatar Masters
2018 - Eddie Pepperell, 270
2017 - Jeunghun Wang-p, 272
2016 - Branden Grace, 274
2015 - Branden Grace, 269
2014 - Sergio Garcia-p, 272
2013 - Chris Wood, 270
2012 - Paul Lawrie-w, 201
2011 - Thomas Bjorn, 274
2010 - Robert Karlsson, 273
2009 - Alvaro Quiros, 269
2008 - Adam Scott, 268
2007 - Retief Goosen, 273
2006 - Henrik Stenson, 273

Qatar Masters
2005 - Ernie Els, 276
2004 - Joakim Haeggman, 272
2003 - Darren Fichardt, 275
2002 - Adam Scott, 269
2001 - Tony Johnstone, 274
2000 - Rolf Muntz, 280
1999 - Paul Lawrie, 268
1998 - Andrew Coltart, 270