Champions Tour Yearly Victory Leaders

Plus other seasonal win records on the senior tour

Bernhard Langer holds the Charles Schwab Cup at the end of the 2014 Champions Tour year, one of the seasons in which Langer led the Tour in wins.
Bernhard Langer (holding the Charles Schwab Cup) led the Champions Tour in wins in five different years. Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Its very name tells us that the Champions Tour is full of golfers who know a thing or two about winning. On this page we list the golfer(s) who led the senior tour in wins during every year the tour's existence.

And we'll also take a look at a few other tour records relating to seasonal victories.

Let's start with a couple questions relating to single-season victories.

Who Holds the Record for Most Wins in a Single Year on the Champions Tour?

Two golfers share this record, both - not surprisingly - Hall of Famers: Peter Thomson and Hale Irwin.

  • Peter Thomson: 9 wins in 1985 (in 22 starts)
  • Hale Irwin: 9 wins in 1997 (in 23 starts)

Which Golfers Led the Tour in Wins Most Often?

This record-holder is Bernhard Langer, who has led the Champions Tour (or tied for the lead) in victories in seven different years: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016 and 2017.

Here are the top golfers in this category:

  • Bernhard Langer - 7 years leading in wins
  • Hale Irwin - 4 times
  • Lee Trevino - 3 times
  • Miller Barber - 3 times

Now, here are the golfers who led the Champions Tour in wins each year (there are more records below the chart):

Annual Win Leaders on the Champions Tour

YearGolfer with Most WinsNo. of Wins
2018Paul Broadhurst, Vijay Singh, Steve Stricker3
2017Bernhard Langer7
2016Bernhard Langer4
2015Jeff Maggert4
2014Bernhard Langer5
2013Kenny Perry3
2012Michael Allen, Roger Chapman, Fred Couples,
David Frost, Fred Funk, Bernhard Langer,
Tom Lehman, Willie Wood
2011John Cook, Tom Lehman3
2010Bernhard Langer5
2009Bernhard Langer4
2008Bernhard Langer, Eduardo Romero3
2007Jay Haas4
2006Loren Roberts, Jay Haas4
2005Hale Irwin4
2004Craig Stadler5
2003Craig Stadler3
2002Hale Irwin, Bob Gilder4
2001Larry Nelson5
2000Larry Nelson6
1999Bruce Fleisher7
1998Hale Irwin7
1997Hale Irwin9
1996Jim Colbert5
1995Jim Colbert, Bob Murphy4
1994Lee Trevino6
1993Dave Stockton5
1992Lee Trevino5
1991Mike Hill5
1990Lee Trevino7
1989Bob Charles5
1988Bob Charles, Gary Player5
1987Chi Chi Rodriguez7
1986Bruce Crampton7
1985Peter Thomson9
1984Miller Barber4
1983Don January6
1982Miller Barber3
1981Miller Barber3

What about 1980? That is considered Year 1 in the history of the Champions Tour. But there were only four tournaments played in 1980, and each was won by a different golfer. So the win leaders for 1980, with one victory each, were Roberto De Vicenzo, Don January, Arnold Palmer and Charlie Sifford.

More Win Records on the Champions Tour

Hale Irwin holds the record for most career wins with 45.

See our Most Career Wins on the Champions Tour page for a list of senior golf's biggest career winners.

Consecutive Seasons With at Least One Champions Tour Win
This record belongs to Irwin and Langer:

  • 12 years - Bernhard Langer (2007-17)
  • 11 years - Hale Irwin (1995-2005)
  • 9 years - Miller Barber (1981-89)
  • 9 years - Gil Morgan (1996-2004)
  • 8 years - Don January (1980-87)
  • 8 years - Chi Chi Rodriguez (1986-93)
  • 8 years - Jim Thorpe (2000-07)

Most Consecutive Wins
Chi Chi Rodriguez won four Champions Tour tournaments in a row during the 1987 season. And that is the senior record for consecutive victories. Rodriguez won the 1987 Vantage at the Dominion, United Hospitals Classic, Silver Pages Classic and Senior Players Reunion tournaments.

Most Different Winners In One Season
Twice in Champions Tour history 25 golfers posted wins during a season. It happened in 1995 and in 2003.