BMW International Open

Winners, history for the European Tour tournament

Azinger Feherty BMW International
Paul Azinger (left) is congratulated by David Feherty after Azinger beat Feherty in a playoff to win the 1990 BMW International Open. Jon Nicholson / Getty Images

The tournament launched in 1989 and has always been associated with BMW. The event is always played in the greater Munich area. Since the demise of the German Open, the BMW International Open is the only European Tour event in Germany.

2019 Tournament
Andrea Pavan won a playoff over Matthew Fitzpatrick to claim the trophy. Pavan opened with a round of 66 and closed with a round of 66 to finish at 15-under 273. Pavan and Fitzpatrick both birdied the final hole of regulation, then matched pars on the first extra hole. But on the second playoff hole, Pavan won with a birdie to Fitzpatrick's par.

2018 BMW International Open
Matt Wallace birdied the 15th and 16th holes in the final round and went on to win by a single stroke. Wallace finished at 7-under 278; the runners-up were Thorbjorn Olesen and Martin Kaymer. Olesen started the final round far back, but shot a tournament record 61. It was Wallace's second victory of the season on the European Tour.

2017 Tournament
Andres Romero birdied five of his last eight holes, including the final hole, to win for the first time in 10 years on the European Tour. Romero shot 65 in the final round, finishing at 17-under 271. That was one stroke better than runners-up Thomas Detry, Richard Bland and Sergio Garcia.

BMW International Open Tournament Records:

  • 18 holes: 61 - Thorbjorn Olesen, 2018
  • 72 holes: 261 - John Daly, 2001

BMW International Open Golf Courses:

Golfclub Munchen Eichenried, on the outskirts of Munich, was the host site of the tournament from 1997 through 2011. It still is in odd-numbered years. In even-numbered years, Golf Club Gut Laerchenhof in Pulheim is the site. Other Munich-area courses to host the event are St. Eurach Land-und and Golfplatz Munchen Nord-Eichrenried.

BMW International Open Trivia and Notes:

  • The first BMW International Open champion was David Feherty. Feherty set the 18-hole tournament scoring record of 62 during his 1989 win, and matched it during the 1990 tourney, as well.
  • Paul Azinger is a 2-time winner of the BMW International Open, earning both his victories in playoffs. In 1992, Azinger won a 5-man playoff, which is still the only 5-man playoff in European Tour history. In 1990, Azinger beat Feherty in a playoff.
  • Along with Azinger, Thomas Bjorn is also a 2-time winner. No other golfer has won more than once.
  • John Daly set the tournament's 72-hole scoring record in his victory in 2001, shooting 261. The win is Daly's lone European Tour title, outside of his two majors.
  • At the 2014 tournament, Fabrizio Zanotti became the first-ever golfer from Paraguay to win on the European Tour.

BMW International Open Open Winners:

(p-won playoff; w-weather shortened)

2019 - Andrea Pavan-p, 273
2018 - Matt Wallace, 278
2017 - Andres Romero, 271
2016 - Henrik Stenson, 271
2015 - Pablo Larrazabal, 271
2014 - Fabrizio Zanotti-p, 269
2013 - Ernie Els, 270
2012 - Danny Willett-p, 277
2011 - Pablo Larrazabal-p, 272
2010 - David Horsey, 270
2009 - Nick Dougherty, 266
2008 - Martin Kaymer-p, 273
2007 - Niclas Fasth, 275
2006 - Henrik Stenson-p, 273
2005 - David Howell, 265
2004 - Miguel Angel Jimenez, 267
2003 - Lee Westwood, 269
2002 - Thomas Bjorn, 264
2001 - John Daly, 261
2000 - Thomas Bjorn, 268
1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
1998 - Russell Claydon, 270
1997 - Robert Karlsson-p, 264
1996 - Marc Farry, 132-w
1995 - Frank Nobilo, 272
1994 - Mark McNulty, 274
1993 - Peter Fowler, 267
1992 - Paul Azinger-p, 266
1991 - Sandy Lyle, 268
1990 - Paul Azinger-p, 277
1989 - David Feherty, 269