Belmont Stakes Winners

Every June, horses vie for the third jewel in horse racing's Triple Crown

The final jewel of the Triple Crown, the Belmont Stakes horse race is held every June at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. The Belmont is the longest of the three races at one and a half miles and also the oldest. If the same horse has won that year's Kentucky Derby and Preakness races, the Belmont is a much bigger deal, because it raises the possibility of a Triple Crown winner. 

Only 12 horses in history have succeeded in winning all three races of the Triple Crown; the most recent was American Pharoah in 2015.

The Belmont is open to three-year old throroughbred horses.

The inaugural running of the Belmont Stakes was in 1867 at Jerome Park Racecourse. It was named after prominent banker and Jockey Club president August Belmont. 

Belmont Park was built for a time when horseracing crowds were much larger than they today, so there is lots of room and more reserved seats than either Churchill Downs (site of the Kentucky Derby) or Pimlico (where the Preakness is run).

The apron (which is the area between the grandstand and the racing surface at a horse racing track) is very wide with lots of benches for free seating,  Unlike the other two races of the Triple Crown, even general admission people can get right up to the rail if they arrive early to stake out a spot. There is also a huge back yard with picnic tables where many families come to spend the day. 

Here is a list of all the Belmont Stakes winners since 1970 with their connections, winning time, odds, and winning margin.








2016CreatorI. Ortiz, Jr.S. AsmussenWinStar Farms, B. Flay2:28:51nose 
2015American PharoahV. EspinozaB. BaffertZayat Stables2:26.65hd0.75
2014TonalistJ. RosarioC. ClementRobert S. Evans2:28.52hd9.20
2013Palace MaliceM. SmithT. PletcherDogwood Stable2:30.703 1/413.80
2012Union RagsJ. VelazquezM. MatzChadds Ford Stable2:30.42neck2.75
2011Ruler on IceJ. Valdivia Jr.K. BreenGeorge and Lori Hall2:30.883/424.75
2010DrosselmeyerM. SmithW. MottWinStar Farm LLC2:31.573/413.00
2009Summer BirdK. DesormeauxT. IceK.K. Jayaraman and D. Vilasini2:27.542 3/411.90
2008Da' TaraA. GarciaN. ZitoRobert V. LaPenta2:29.655 1/438.50
2007Rags to RichesJ. VelazquezT. PletcherTabor and Smith2:28.74head4.30
2006JazilF. JaraK. McLaughlinShadwell Stable2:27.861 1/46.20
2005Afleet AlexJ. RoseT. RitcheyCash is King Stable2:28.757*1.15
2004BirdstoneE. PradoN. ZitoMary Lou Whitney2:27.50136.00
2003Empire MakerJ. BaileyR. FrankelJuddemonte Farm2:28.263/42.00
2002SaravaE. PradoK. McPeekNew Phoenix Stable & S. Roy2:29.711/270.25
2001Point GivenG. StevensB. BaffertThoroughbred Corp.2:26.5612 1/4*1.35
2000CommendableP. DayD.W. LukasB. & B. Lewis2:31.191 1/218.80
1999Lemon Drop KidJ. SantosS. SchulhoferJ.G. Vance2:27.88hd29.75
1998Victory GallopG. StevensW. E. WaldenPrestonwood Farm2:29.16no4.50
1997Touch GoldC. McCarronD. HofmansStonerside Stable & F. Stronach2:28.823/42.65
1996Editor's NoteR. DouglasD.W. LukasOverbrook Farm2:28.9615.80
1995Thunder GulchG. StevensD.W. LukasM. Tabor2:32.022*1.50
1994Tabasco CatP. DayD.W. LukasOverbrook Farm & D.P. Reynolds2:26.8223.40
1993Colonial AffairJ. KroneF.S. SchulhoferCentennial Farms2:29.972 1/413.90
1992A.P. IndyE. DelahoussayeN. DrysdaleT. Tomonori2:26.133/4*1.10
1991HanselJ.D. BaileyF. BrothersLazy Lane Farms2:28.10hd4.10
1990Go And GoM.J. KinaneW. DermotMoyglare Stud Farm2:27 1/58 1/27.50
1989Easy GoerP. DayC. McGaughey IIIO. Phipps2:2681.60
1988Risen StarE. DelahoussayeL. Roussel IIIRoussel & Lamark Stable2:26 2/514 3/4*2.10
1987Bet TwiceC. PerretW.A. Croll Jr.Cisley Stable & B.P. Levy2:28 1/5148.00
1986Danzig ConnectionC.J. McCarronW. StephensH. DeKwiatkowski2:29 4/51 1/48.00
1985Creme FraicheE. MapleW. StephensBrushwood Stable2:271/22.50
1984SwaleL. Pincay Jr.W. StephensClaiborne Farm2:27 1/54*1.50
1983CaveatL. Pincay Jr.W. StephensA. Belmont2:27 4/53 1/22.60
1982Conquistador CieloL. Pincay Jr.W. StephensH. DeKwiatkowski2:28 1/5144.10
1981SummingG. MartensL. BarreraC.T. Wilson Jr.2:29nk7.90
1980Temperence HillE. MapleJ. CanteyLoblolly Stable2:29 4/5253.40
1979CoastalR. HernandezD. WhiteleyW.H. Perry2:28 3/53 1/44.40
1978AffirmedS. CauthenL. BarreraHarborview Farm2:26 4/5hd*0.60
1977Seattle SlewJ. CruguetW. TurnerK.L. Taylor2:29 3/54*0.40
1976Bold ForbesA. Cordero Jr.L. BarreraE.R. Tizol2:29nk*0.90
1975AvatarW. ShoemakerA.T. DoyleA.A. Seeligson Jr.2:28 1/5nk13.20
1974Little CurrentM.A. RiveraT.L. RondinelloDarby Dan Farm2:29 1/57*1.50
1973SecretariatR. TurcotteL. LaurinMeadow Stable2:2431*0.10
1972Riva RidgeR. TurcotteL. LaurinMeadow Stable2:287*1.60
1971Pass CatcherW. BlumE. YowellOctober House Farm2:30 2/53/434.50
1970High EchelonJ.L. RotzJ.W. JacobsE.D. Jacobs2:343/44.50