ANA Inspiration, an LPGA Major Championship

ANA Inspiration was formerly known as the Kraft Nabisco Championship

Dinah Shore statue at Mission Hills, site of ANA Inspiration
A statue of tournament founder DInah Shore stands by the 18th green and next to the pond into which the ANA Inspiration winner traditionally jumps. David Cannon/Getty Images

The ANA Inspiration golf tournament is part of the LPGA Tour and is one of the five major championships in women's golf. ANA stands for All Nippon Airlines, a Japanese carrier that became title sponsor beginning in 2015. ANA replaced Kraft Nabisco as title sponsor. The tournament has been known by multiple names throughout its history:

  • ANA Inspiration: 2015-
  • Kraft Nabisco Championship: 2002-2014
  • Nabisco Championship: 2000-01
  • Nabisco Dinah Shore: 1982-1999
  • Colgate Dinah Shore: 1972-1981

Despite all the changes in title sponsors, the ANA Inspiration has always been played at Mission Hills Country Club in California. The tournament was founded by entertainer Dinah Shore, a strong supporter of women's golf and the LPGA. Shore died in 1994, but there is a statue of her at the host course. It is tradition for the tournament winner to jump in the lake next to the 18th green.

Photos: Ladies of the Lake a'Leapin

2020 ANA Inspiration

  • When: April 2-5
  • Where: Mission Hills Country Club (Dinah Shore Tournament Course) in Mission Hills, Calif.

2019 Tournament

Jin Young Ko closed out the victory with a birdie on the final hole to finish at 10-under-par 278. That gave her a 3-stroke victory over runner-up Mi Hyang Lee. It was the first major championship victory for the 23-year-old from Korea. It was her fourth overall win on the LPGA Tour and her second of the 2019 season.

2018 ANA Inspiration
Following one of the longest sudden-death playoffs in LPGA history, Pernilla Lindberg emerged as the champion. It was her first career win on the LPGA Tour. Lindberg, Jennifer Song and Inbee Park all finished regulation at 15-under 273, and continued into a playoff. Song was eliminated on the third extra hole, but Lindberg and Park just kept going. Lindberg didn't win it until she made a birdie to Park's par on the eighth extra hole. Only two sudden-death playoffs in Tour history lasted long.

ANA Inspiration Tournament Records

ANA Inspiration Golf Course

This tournament is now and always has been played at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. The ANA Inspiration takes place on the club's Dinah Shore Tournament Course (the club's other two courses are the Arnold Palmer Course and Pete Dye Challenge course), which was designed by Desmond Muirhead and tips out at 7,250 yards. For this tournament, the course is set up as a 6,702-yard par-72. See our profile of Mission Hills CC for more.

ANA Inspiration Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • The ANA Inspiration is one of five majors on the LPGA Tour, but it hasn't always been that way. From its founding in 1972 through 1982, what was then called the Colgate Dinah Shore was a big event - but did not have major championship status. Winners from 1983 forward are credited with major championship wins.
  • Among those who won this event before it was elevated to major status were Jane Blalock and Judy Rankin, neither of whom ever won a major championship.
  • LPGA legends Mickey Wright, Kathy Whitworth and Nancy Lopez also won the Dinah Shore - before it was a major. Sandra Post won twice in those pre-major years.
  • The first three-time winner was Amy Alcott, whose third victory came in 1991. Betsy King joined Alcott as a 3-time champion in 1997, and Annika Sorenstam in 2005.
  • After Alcott's second victory, in 1988, she inaugurated what is now known as the "Champions Leap" when she spontaneously rushed off the 18th green and leaped into the greenside lake. That leap has since become a tradition at the tournament (see Why do ANA Inspiration winners jump in the lake? and Ladies of the Lake photo gallery).
  • When Morgan Pressel won this tournament in 2007, she became the youngest-ever LPGA major championship winner (a record since broken). Pressel was about two months shy of her 19th birthday.
  • A couple of LPGA major championship scoring records were set here. The 62 Lorena Ochoa posted in the first round in 2006 tied for lowest 18-hole score in a women's major; and Dottie Pepper's 19-under in 1999 set the record for the lowest score in relation to par in a women's major. (Both records have since been broken.)
  • Brittany Lincicome won the 2009 KNC by making eagle on the final hole. It is the only time in either a men's or women's major championship that a final-hole eagle determined the winner.
  • In 2018, the first-ever three-woman playoff in the ANA happened between Pernilla Lindberg, Inbee Park and Jennifer Song. Lindberg finally won it on the eighth extra hole. It was the third-longest sudden-death playoff in LPGA history.

Recent Winners of the ANA Inspiration

2019 - Jin Young Ko, 278
2018 - Pernilla Lindberg, 273
2017 - So Yeon Ryu
2016 - Lydia Ko
2015 - Brittany Lincicome
2014 - Lexi Thompson

View Full List of Past Winners